sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

All That's Left is 1 Short Page

Well, the old diary is gone. The only thing that's there now is a page saying I'm gone. I went through and deleted all the photos I had stored, all my notes, all my guestbook stuff, and all my entries. (I backed up a hard copy though.) It was very sad. One thing I noticed though...when I write, I write the same thing over and over. It seems as if I rarely have an original thought, even if I think it's new to me. I wrote something in December that was remarkably similar to something I had written in March and I thought the December entry so rich and new and expressive. Apparently I also thought that in March.

This morning I got up a little earlier than usual and when I turned on the radio, I heard the host interviewing a couple about adopting Ukranian kids. They were focusing on a non-agency way of adopting that is much cheaper and more cost effective. It's still a pricey endeavor as there is travel to the Ukrain involved, but since you aren't working with an agency or lawyer, the fees are much more reduced. The woman that started this is named Cathy Harris and her website is at: http://www.ukrainianangels.org. There is also more info on Independant Ukraine adoption at: http://www.adoptukraine.com/index.html. It is all so very interesting. I put the info away until we are ready to pursue adoption for sure. I also looked into Steve Curtis Chapman's website for information on adopting from China, but they are not taking any new grant requests until after Thursday and then it will be limited. As we are not ready to adopt just yet, we will have to wait on that as well. It's just good to have all that information at the ready so we can move ahead when it's time.

Just to show you how much terrorism has seaped into the average American midwesterner...as I was leaving for work this morning, I passed the lobby of our apartment building. Sitting on one of the benches were 2 Neiman Marcus hat boxes, evidentally left over from the Christmas forage for presents. Never one to pass up a good gift box, I walked over to pick them up. Instead, pictures of past incidents seen on television news and CSI flashed through my brain and I saw myself picking them up, thus tripping a hidden hair trigger and blowing me and our apartment building to smithereens. So I left those great gift boxes right where they were...yes I did, because that's how good an American I am. Stupid, but good.

I mourn the loss of my other journal. I still have the hard copy of course, but I miss having all that history right here for y'all to read. It's part of me. It's who I am, in part. My hopes and dreams and fears and insecurities all right there for anyone to stumble across. Which, of course they did, which is of course why it's no longer here. I wrote over 300 entries in a year, averaged 50 readers a day and had a great comments system and even made some friends along the way. I can only hope for better in this locale.

Because I've been thinking about this all day (No, I don't know why), one of the cutest things my youngest nephew ever said: Yes sir Boberee! (Instead of Yessiree Bob...get it???) Hee.

Countdown to WLS informational meeting: 7 days!

1:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Dec. 30, 2003
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink