sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Year In Review

Happy New Year! Super HUsband (Supe, SH) and I spent the evening in low style. I rented 3 flix and we received our first 3 flix through Netflix, so we are set for movies. I got off of work early, at 4, so I was home earlier than anticipated.

Work was busier than I thought and even though the Required Minimum Distribution notices went out to our customers with IRA's months ago, some people will just procrastinate until the very last minute. Yesterday was NOT the day to come in and try and get your RMD from your annuity. That was probably the most frustrating part of the day. Besides that, no, means NO!

Supe and I watched 2 movies, then we repared to the bedroom where we lay on the bed, talking, remembering and listening to the radio. 10 minutes before midnight, we went to watch the Ball drop over Times Square on Dick Clark's New Years Rockin' Eve. I popped the cork on the champagne and we toasted the new year.

Can you believe it's 2004? I can't. 2004 seems so foreign and futuristic. I just wonder what this new year will bring.

Here's a quick recap of 2003.

January...first full month of my new journal on Diaryland. Supe and I took a trip to Duluth and it was also the month I learned how to knit.

I don't remember what happened in February.

March...was a horrific month. The month I almost lost Supe. He wasn't feeling well and was going to the doctors and getting tests done and ended up in ICU of our local hospital for almost 7 full days. During the same time, I had my gallbladder taken out and was unable to go visit my own husband in the hospital due to my recovery.

April was our month of recovery and repreeve.

May...We met our neighbors and the kids from our apartment building. We took care of a baby squirrel and let Maisey outside for the first time.

June...We took our first real vacation as husband and wife. We went up North to Ely, MN and spent a week on a lake there. It was awesome. We also saw Supe's favorite nephew graduate from high school and turn 18.

July...We went camping and saw the fireworks with Supe's eldest sister and her family. We celebrated Supe's mom and step dad's 25th wedding anniversary and we went to Supe's youngest sister's cabin on a lake for some more R 'n R.

August...I started my new job at Big Bank Co and wondered why it took me so long to find something so good. I left my old job with nary a thought or a wave. (2 months later, I found out my old bosses were out the door and our office and regional division were being completely revamped. I got out just in time!) We also got word back from the Depr of Human Rights that they felt Supe's former company had every right and reason to fire him and they said they found no grounds for discrimination.

September...We celebrated our 2nd wedding anniversary and our first anniversary in our apartment. We also added a new kitty to our family. Daisy has brought much love and laughter to us and has been a nice addition to our little family.

October...Supe got a power wheel chair and started ministry training school He also began to visit a local nursing home to bring encouragement and hope to several of the guys who live there. Also, I threw Supe his first ever surprise birthday party.

November...We celebrated Thanksgiving with Supe's family. I took up knitting and crocheting again after a 5 month hiatus.

December...My former journal celebrated 1 year in exhistence, I turned 36, and we were able to celebrate Christmas with both sides of our families.

For the year ahead, we look forward to hopefully getting a handicapped accessible van so Supe can get around on his own whenever he needs to go somewhere. I want to have weight loss surgery and become the woman I know is inside of me.

So, that's our year...as much as I can remember it. Happy new year everyone!

9:45 a.m. - Thursday, Jan. 01, 2004
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink