sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Itchy and Scratchy

There is something wrong with my skin. I am suddenly very, very itchy. When I get home at night, after work, I just sit and constantly itch my legs, arms, feet, chest and back. It usually only happens at night after work, but yesterday at work, my left forearm was incredebly itchy and when I looked at it, it had all these little pink bumps on it. They are gone today and there is no itching, but man, I wish I knew what was going on. Maybe it's our laundry detergent? I made an appointment with the doctor for Tuesday to see if she could tell me anything. If nothing else, I can show her the incredeble vanishing plantar warts! Maybe that's what's causing the itching???? No warts, but itching instead. I know it's not fleas. We had fleas once before and I know what flea bites look like. These aren't bites...they are bumps. Last night Supe rubbed me down with hydrocortozone cream and that helped immensely.

Daisy is back to sleeping with me. Now that she is top cat in the pad, she has been sleeping elsewhere in the apartment. I was missing her, so last night I brought her to bed with me twice and both times she jumped off the bed and ran away. I was bumming because she is so warm and fuzzy and it's like sleeping next to your own personal little heater. Well, I woke up in the middle of the night and guess who was sawing z's right next to me! Yay! Maisey has been sleeping on top of Supe's tall dresser. At first she was sleeping on the clean clothes we had stacked on there, but we put those away and placed a warm, cozy towel there and she sleeps curled up on that. Since she's not top cat anymore, she has to at least feel taller than everyone else, I suppose. It is kind of cute. I'll have to take and post a photo.

Today I am getting off work early in order to take Supe to the neurologist. He usually would take Metr0 M0bility, but they told him it was too far. Whatever. They take people from Lakeville to Andover and they can't haul him from Minnetonka to Burnsville? It must be because of the bus strike. Anyway, I am getting off at 2 and we will take his manual wheelchair and go see the doc. This is a new neurologist for Supe. Our insurance company wanted us to see this guy since he's covered by our plan. I guess they are just covering all their bases, making sure Supe really has MD. Whatever...I just hope it's a good experience for Supe. He hates doctors and isn't fond of all the testing, poking and prodding they do. Hopefully this guy will be good.

I'd like Supe to see a nutritionist of some sort too. Because his muscles are breaking down, his motabilism is a lot slower than most. It would be nice to see if there is anyone out there who specializes in nutrition for MD patients. Maybe I'll call the gal at Fairview to see if she knows of any.

I called my bariatric clinic back yesterday and told them I would like to have Dr. Johnson operate on me. So, they gave him my file and he will look it over before sending it on to the insurance company. Supe was happy with my choice. He said he didn't want the super old doctor operating on me (That would be Dr. Baker.) and he didn't want the part time guy operating on me (that would be Dr. Baker's son, Dr. Baker Jr.) so that only left Dr. Johnson. I have heard VERY good things about him, so am anxious to meet him. I am thinking the surgery may be in May...if things roll along here. Also, I will be putting my name on the cancellation list, so it could be sooner than that.

We just found out last night that one of our nephews is graduating from college in May in Pensacola. It would be nice to go down to see him, but if that's when my surgery is, that's a no-go. It would also be nice to check out the Pensacola area if we did go down. But Supe says we won't be able to afford it, so we will plan for a winter vacation in 2005. That will be nice.

Tonight is WW. I am dreading the weight in as I have NOT been keeping points for the past 2 weeks. Blech.

I had orginally lost 9 pounds, gained 3 back and now it will be interesting to see how many more I put on in the last 2 weeks. I gotta get on it though as I have to lose 20 lbs before my surgery. Why do I have to lose weight to have weight loss surgery??

Whew! My people made it through on American Idol. Yay! I am bummed that Leah person didn't make it through though and SO surprised that Jennifer was in the bottom 2! I want that cheesy Matt guy or pink haired Amy to be gone. Also, did you see how tiny that Leah gal was compared to Amy and Jennifer? I didn't think they were large at all, but comparitively...they were HUGE! Leah must be a wood sprite or waif.

Also, on Extreme Makeover...did you see the transformations? Those people did not even look like themselves. The guy looked amazing and the woman was a knockout! I LOVED her dress. It will be interesting to see the new Fox show, The Swan when it premeres. It's more about rewarding plastic surgeons than it is about a beauty pagent, I think. If you could have plastic surgery that was guaranteed to work and change something permanently about you...what would you change? Leave a comment. -------------------------------------- A Year Ago Today: 12:56 p.m. March 18, 2003 030318_69.html \"M\" is for Motivation and Morbid Obesity (I should be so skinny) Today's entry brought to you by Alphabytes and the letter \"M\" for Motivated. No dictionary definition...today if you want to know what it means, look it up.

Remember getting that answer when you would ask your mom or dad what a word meant or how it was spelled? Now a days kids just use spell check and assumed they spelled everything write. (See what I did there?)

What am I motivated about? Well, I will tell you. I have been thinking (since last Fall) about having a gastric bypass done. I am WAY heavier than I have ever been and just cannot seem to get a handle on it. My weight has impacted my life in little ways ever since puberty, but now that I'm 35, It's really starting to affect my health in bigger ways. According to the BMI calculators out there in the internet, I am: super obese 50 - 60 kg/m2 and my weight is at the 98th percentile which means, according to my age and height(compared to other Americans)my weight is greater than 98% of others.

I have been looking on the internet at the pros and cons. Reading medical testimony and the biobgraphies of people who have actually gone through the proceedure. There is a woman who used to work at our office who had it done last year and she looked amazing at our Christmas party.

Yesterday SB and I went out to lunch after my appointment with the surgeon and I couldn't fit into the booth. I am large and uncomfortable and unhappy. I know this surgery is risky and isn't, in itself going to make me happy. But It's a good tool for self moderation (something I seem to lack on my own.) and I am going to talk to my personal physician about it on Monday at my annual physical.

If I end up going through with it, I won't do it until September or October. There is a 6 to 8 week recoup time which would not make my bosses happy. But I think in the long run, it would be good for everyone, including me.

Plus, by planning it for that late in the year, I will have time to prepare myself mentally and physically and can see a counselor and find a doctor and whatnot.

I guess I will know more after speaking with my physician, but I am really leaning towards having this done.

The really bad part is the left over skin that hangs around once the majority of the weight is lost. Most insurance companies will pay for the bypass because of the money they save in the long run. But they won't pay for the plastic surgery required to take off the extra skin because they assume It's for cosmetic reasons. But I have read lots of testimonies from women who say It's a necessity due to rashes, rubbing, extra weight, etc. A couple women got doctors to write letters to the insurance companies stating the medical need for the plastic surgery and the insurance companies complied and paid up. But others did not. So, It's kind of hit and miss on that. But I think the important thing is to get as healthy as possible. I don't want to leave this world earlier than I have to and I haven't been able to get to a healthy weight on my own.

As far as my gallbladder is concerned, the scheduler hasn't called yet. So we shall see.

Thanks for reading. --------------------------------------- A Year Ago Today: March 18, 2003: "M" is for Motivation and Morbid Obesity (I should be so skinny)

Today's entry brought to you by Alphabytes and the letter "M" for Motivated. No dictionary definition...today if you want to know what it means, look it up.

Remember getting that answer when you would ask your mom or dad what a word meant or how it was spelled? Now a days kids just use spell check and assumed they spelled everything write. (See what I did there?)

What am I motivated about? Well, I will tell you. I have been thinking (since last Fall) about having a gastric bypass done. I am WAY heavier than I have ever been and just cannot seem to get a handle on it. My weight has impacted my life in little ways ever since puberty, but now that I'm 35, It's really starting to affect my health in bigger ways. According to the BMI calculators out there in the internet, I am: super obese 50 - 60 kg/m2 and my weight is at the 98th percentile which means, according to my age and height(compared to other Americans)my weight is greater than 98% of others.

I have been looking on the internet at the pros and cons. Reading medical testimony and the biobgraphies of people who have actually gone through the proceedure. There is a woman who used to work at our office who had it done last year and she looked amazing at our Christmas party.

Yesterday SB and I went out to lunch after my appointment with the surgeon and I couldn't fit into the booth. I am large and uncomfortable and unhappy. I know this surgery is risky and isn't, in itself going to make me happy. But It's a good tool for self moderation (something I seem to lack on my own.) and I am going to talk to my personal physician about it on Monday at my annual physical.

If I end up going through with it, I won't do it until September or October. There is a 6 to 8 week recoup time which would not make my bosses happy. But I think in the long run, it would be good for everyone, including me.

Plus, by planning it for that late in the year, I will have time to prepare myself mentally and physically and can see a counselor and find a doctor and whatnot.

I guess I will know more after speaking with my physician, but I am really leaning towards having this done.

The really bad part is the left over skin that hangs around once the majority of the weight is lost. Most insurance companies will pay for the bypass because of the money they save in the long run. But they won't pay for the plastic surgery required to take off the extra skin because they assume It's for cosmetic reasons. But I have read lots of testimonies from women who say It's a necessity due to rashes, rubbing, extra weight, etc. A couple women got doctors to write letters to the insurance companies stating the medical need for the plastic surgery and the insurance companies complied and paid up. But others did not. So, It's kind of hit and miss on that. But I think the important thing is to get as healthy as possible. I don't want to leave this world earlier than I have to and I haven't been able to get to a healthy weight on my own.

As far as my gallbladder is concerned, the scheduler hasn't called yet. So we shall see.

Thanks for reading.

9:35 a.m. - Thursday, Mar. 18, 2004
4 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink