sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Year Ago Today

A Year Ago Today:April 04, 2003 A New Design and Wishing For More

It�s a brand new look for spring. I am actually experimenting with my diary�s look. I have another design sent to me by Moviegrrl that I LOVE! I think I will try this for a week and then do that one and see which one fits me better. I�m so fickle...maybe I will just flip flop, or maybe change it every month! Whoo hoo! I like playing around. I do not know much about HTML code writing...but I know enough to be dangerous and can add and change and delete things. But that can be dangerous if I�m not careful as I may delete something I really need. So, I try to be careful when I add and change things and so far it has worked.

Yesterday was a slow day at work, which was nice for a change. (Hence, the design changes.)

Sweet Baboo went to see the lawyer and has some good news/not so good news. First of all, she said it is amazing that the Dept of Human Rights even took SB�s case to begin with since they are notorious for denying almost all claims of fraud and discrimination. So, That�s good news. She told SB that his recent health problems aren�t great news and that he shouldn�t apply for total permanent disabilities if he wants to file a lawsuit on his former employers. She said he cannot have a lawsuit and a case filed with the DoHR at the same time so we have to wait until DoHR makes a ruling and judgment to see if we really want to file a lawsuit too. However, she did say it is obvious they dismissed him illegally. She is going to read over his documents and see if there are any other things they can be sued for.

It would be nice to get some kind of back wages settlement. That way we could put it in the bank and build a nest egg for a home or adoption fees or something like that.

Speaking of a home...last night we went to the home of some acquaintances from church for dinner. They live in a nice town home tucked away in a busy area of Eden Prairie. It was just a great design! Most of the living space was on the main floor. They had a bedroom and a bath, the master bed and bath suite, a living, dining, kitchen great room and a big open space with a cathedral ceiling. There was also a laudryroom and the entry to the double garage on the main floor. Then upstairs they had a loft and a guest bed and bath. It would be the perfect design for someone like SB who cannot really handle stairs. He would not have to go upstairs at all and would still have a lot of living space available to him. I really liked it and should have asked how much they run for.

We had a nice time with them over dinner and dessert. They have a 11 month old daughter who is just the sweetest little button ever! She thought it was funny when I would shake my head no and my hair would fly all over. By the end of the evening, she was imitating me and it was adorable! We just found out that they are pregnant again, expecting around Thanksgiving! Nice couple. We really enjoyed spending time with them and getting to know them more.

It was somewhat hard though. They are a younger couple than Sweet Baboo or I, though they have been married 6 years to our 1 1/2. But they have what we long for. House, children, roots. I wonder when those will come for us. It is hard not being envious. However, as that�s a sin and I will be thankful for what God has given us and ask Him to please see us through to the day when we will have house, family, and roots.

Thanks for reading.

April 04, 2003 A Bonus Friday Entry

BONUS! It�s the Friday Five, http://www.fridayfive.org, I thought this fit with the theme of today�s original entry, so I thought I would add this to my entries. Enjoy!

1. How many houses/apartments have you lived in throughout your life?

Good Lord! I will try to count them all, but there are many, many, many! I am going to start with the first place I remember...I know there were 1 or 2 before that, but here we go:

The apartment in New Port, the duplex in S. St. Paul, our first house in S. St. Paul, our first house in Wisconsin, our pop-up camper while Dad built Mom�s "dream house" the first house Dad built in WI, the rental while he built another house in WI, the newly built other house in WI, our first house in Southern WI, 4 dorm rooms and the house/apartment near campus, the rental house while dad built another house in the woods, the house in the woods, nanny position in Eastern MD, nanny position in New Jersey in their rental house, same nanny position in New Jersey in their newly built house, nanny position in Western MD, first apartment in MD, 2nd apartment in MD, 3rd place in MD, back home with Mom and Dad, nanny position in Minneapolis, house-sitting for friends, 1st apartment in MN, married and 2nd apartment in MN but 1st with new husband, and finally, current apartment with husband for a grand total of 29 moves in 35 years! Can that be right? Yes,...it can!

2. Which was your favorite and why?

Well, growing up I really liked the 2nd house my dad built us. I LOVED my room and the house was a "salt-box" and just fit us really well. It was big and set back in the woods. I would walk to a nearby creek and play and swim in the summer and skate in the winter. It was nice. I also liked the first dorm room I had to myself, my first real apartment and I love the apartment my husband and I live in now.

3. Do you find moving house more exciting or stressful? Why?

I used to find it exciting...but now It�s just stressful. I�ve always envied people who lived their entire lives in one or two homes. I wish I had those kinds of roots. Changing homes so many times also means changing school systems and that was hard as a kid.

4. What�s more important, location or price?

Right now, price. I would be willing to drive a bit to work if we could find a nice little bit of land and a nice little home for a good price.

5. What features does your dream house have (pool, spa bath, big yard, etc.)?

My dream house is so out there. I have lived in some swanky places as a nanny, so I have champagne tastes on a sparkling cider budget. But here goes.

Due to SB�s disability, it would be a large sprawling 1 level home with 4 or 5 bedrooms, a huge master bed/bath suite with a separate tub and shower. The tub would be the garden type that you have to step up to get into...with Jacuzzi jets. There would be a kitchen/dining/living great room with a fireplace and a deck off the back. Also, a wrap-around porch with a swing and white wicker furniture. Lots of windows and skylights and near enough to a lake that we have access with a dock. Plenty of room for kids/pets/guests.

So that does it friends. The Friday Five. Look for it regularly here.

Thanks for reading.

8:59 a.m. - Sunday, Apr. 04, 2004
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink