sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Mad City

Happy day after Easter!

The weekend was good. I got frustrated on the drive down to my parent�s as I encountered construction that I was not prepared for and it took me 2 hours and 40 minutes just to get to Menomonee. It should have taken half that long if anything. So, though they let me out of work an hour early, I got home an hour later than expected.

It was kind of late when I got to my parents�, so we weren�t able to sit and talk like we normally do, as they were off to bed not too long after my arrival. Saturday, they had stuff to do and I went to the hospital to see my sister-in-law and her mom.

I was up and out by 10:30am. I stopped by a small mall and picked up a �pick-me-up� for my sister-in-law. I chose an assortment of good smelling stuff from Bath and Body Works, thinking she would enjoy the good smells after being in a hospital all week. Before I got to the hospital, I swung through Octopus Car Wash to give my little golden gem a good spring-cleaning. I also picked up a pretty blue dolphin air freshener. Mmmmm. After that, it was off to the hospital.

I got lost looking for Belle�s room and some patient had puked right outside the main elevators. Blech! But eventually, I found them. They looked great! Belle�s mom was thin, but looked amazing for just having a transplant. They both had had lots of visitors and lots and lots of flowers. It wasn�t until I was helping my brother pack Belle up for the trip home that I saw she also had TONS of good smelling stuff from B&BW. Oh well, at least I was in good company.

Around 1, I took my nephews so Huff and Belle could get her home and settled. The boys and I went to Rocky Rococo�s for lunch. Mmmmm�deep-dish pizza! At this particular restaurant, they have games for kids to play and earn tickets. (Much like Chuck E. Cheese.) So, we ate and the boys played games, won lots of tickets, and got a few little tchotshke�s (I have no idea how to spell that and neither does my spell check.) for their trouble. After that, we went to the mall so Repeat could exchange a book he got for his birthday. We had a good time walking around the mall. Then it was back into the car and off to Grandma�s house to play for a bit. The boys were impressed with the cleanliness and pristine condition of the backseat of my car. When I told him about it later, my brother laughed and said it was because I didn�t have any little cretins eating chocolate donuts with sprinkles in MY backseat. True enough. In fact, I think I can count on one hand the times anyone has ridden in the backseat of my car in the last 3 years.

After my brother picked up the boys, Mom, Dad and I ate a yummy dinner of pot-roast and potatoes and then watched Whale Rider. I must say, though it started slow, it was a fabulous movie. The little gal that was the main character was cute as a button!

I don�t know what�s wrong with me, but I kept picking up a weird vibe from my mom over the weekend. And instead of talking to her about it, I just kept pushing it off. I thought maybe it was just me and I should learn to just buck up. But it bothered me so much that when I left my thank you note to my parents, I asked if I had done something to upset Mom and if so, I was sorry. Brave, huh? It�s hard to find yourself as an adult in your parent�s lives, isn�t it? One mistake and I still feel as if I were 12 and awaiting the verdict of which privileges might be taken away. Or one comment from either parent and I feel as if I were back in those turbulent high school years when my hormones were up and down and nothing made sense. When do we ever get to the point of relating to our folks as adults? When do we get to the point where what we hear from them isn�t filtered through 18-25 years of parental teaching, guidance, and discipline? When do they get to the point where we are no longer their little kids? Do you think that ever happens? Also, when in the world will I stop being so frickin sensitive? Leave a comment if you have any insight.

Anyway, Sunday was nice with church in the am and lunch after with Mom, Dad and the boys. They sure were squirrelly! After lunch, I changed, packed up and hit the road. I traveled back to MN via a different route and this time had a much more enjoyable trip. I like the scenery better as I travel over the Mississippi River and through the river bluffs and hills. It�s gorgeous! The weather was weird. At first there were ominous black clouds on the horizon, churning and swirling. If it had been warmer, I would have worried about tornados. At one point, the roads were wet and there was road spray, but no rain had fell while I was traveling. At another point, little ice pellets rained on me, but only for about 30 seconds. Then, around La Crosse, the sun came out and shined bright as you please the rest of the way home. I walked in the door of our home at 7pm on the dot.

So, overall, it was a good trip but made weird by my weirdness I guess. But it never felt so good to be home. Supe wasn�t there when I got there, but he came home shortly after and we had a sweet reunion. I went to bed early and fell asleep soon after.

This morning was the phone interview with Ian and Marjorie Punnett. I think it went well. I used to work in radio and have conducted several dozens of interviews. I have not been interviewed myself, so I wasn�t sure how to prepare. They called me just before 7:30 and put me on hold. Then Ian picked up the connection and we got started. We talked a bit about my weight and size and then he took a caller who had had the surgery done 4 years ago. She was encouraging. Then they took a break and when Ian came back, he read a story about feeders�men who date and marry LARGE women and feed them to make them bigger. The bigger the women get, the more they have to rely on these men for their daily needs, including food. He wanted my take on that. I said I had read about that phenomenon before. I had first heard about it in Camryn Manheim�s book and thought it seemed very Munchausen by Proxy to me. He said it reminded him of someone enabling/encouraging alcoholism. Either way you look at it, it�s sick and wrong. Then we talked about why the surgery and what I hope to gain (or lose, as it were.) It was a good 20-25 minute interview with breaks and 2 callers. I think it went very well. They are going to keep checking in with me and updating the listeners as I go.

Don�t forget�taxes are due on the 15th! Only 3 more days to get it all in.

_______________________________________

A Year Ago Today: April 12, 2003 Five and Six

The Friday Five turned into the Saturday Six due to Friday�s unscheduled illness

1. What was the first band you saw in concert?

The Cars at Madison�s Coliseum in 1981 or 1982.

2. Who is your favorite artist/band now?

I like so many. In Secular Music, I like Brian Setzer, Sting, U2, Van Morrison, Carly Simon, James Taylor, Madonna. John Mayer, Jason S?, Pink. In Christian Music, I like Salvador, Burlap to Cashmere,Rich Mullins, Third Day, Jennifer Knapp, Ginny Owens, and Mercy Me.

3. What�s your favorite song?

Move Me by FFH and Trouble by Pink.

4. If you could play any instrument, what would it be?

Piano

5. If you could meet any musical icon (past or present), who would it be and why?

Keith Green...because he was so before his time in music and in reaching out to people.

6. If you could work in the music industry, what work would you like to do?

I would like to be in management or in promoting.

11:02 a.m. - Monday, Apr. 12, 2004
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink