sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What Is That Bright Yellow Ball in the Sky?

Finally, today we have seen the sun. It's almost 80 degrees and several people have been out enjoying the pool in the courtyard all afternoon. Maisey, too, has been enjoying the beautiful day.

I cleaned up the patio after all the rain we have had and separated the flowering plants from the baster my sister in law brought me. Then I placed them throughout our patio. It looks beautiful. Here is a photo of it.

I am hoping I can keep the plants alive. I am not one who has a very green thumb though. I left the plant my co-workers gave me outside and it got too cold this past week. Many of the leaves turned black and died. I trimmed the dead leaves and black parts off and it looks OK now. I am hoping it lives long enough to flower.

This is my last weekend of liquids only. Thank God! I have had some stuff I should have saved for the coming weeks but it went well with me, so I'm not worried. It will just take some time getting used to eating small, small, small bites and eating quite slowly. I am not happy about the food police at work, but that too will work out eventually. I just don't understand why people think they have the right to comment on what goes into my mouth. It's not like I haven't done a vast amount of research on this surgery, the after effects, and the lifestyle change that needs to be in place for success. But still, everyone knows someone who has had this surgery and they all come and tell me what they have heard I can and can't do now. "Oh, my childcare provider had it done and she said you will now have to only eat Tuna, Talapia, and Turkey and can never, ever eat things beginning with B, D or S again!" Ooookaaaay! It's seriously about that bad. I even got a letter from my G'ma reminding me that according to Dr. Phil, I will now have to work out an hour to an hour and half every day or I will gain all the weight back again. Seriously, this has to be the worst part of this whole process. Now I know a little bit of what pregnant women feel like once they announce their pregnancy. Everyone and their dog feels they HAVE to comment on how horrible their labor will be and how drasticly their lives will change once the baby is born. Sheesh!

I don't know if I will be a dumper. I had a bite of regular ice cream last night and have been drinking juice and lemonade at full strength without incident. Once I get on regular food, we'll see what happens I guess.

***************************************

A Year Ago Today: June 12, 2003, Antidepressants are Evil?

Heard an interesting radio conversation yesterday. I was listening to Ian Punnett on FM107. He was speaking to a woman named Dr. Ann Blake Tracy who wrote a book called Prozac: Panacea or Pandora. She is a doctor that is horrified how the medical community is treating all manner of emotional problems with prozak and its pharmasuitical cousins. She has all kinds of research that indicates how dangerous all these drugs are and that in the long run are more dangerous than the illnesses they are supposedly treating. There is alot more information at the websight

www.drugawareness.org.

I think this is interesting because I have been on one antidepressant or another since 1994. I started on Paxil. But Paxil gave me horrific nightmares and I was afraid to go to sleep. Because of that, I jumped off it cold turkey and ended up on the hospital psych ward. To help me sleep, they gave me another anti depressant called Trazadone which has a sleep aid. The only problem is that you have to eat it with food or it comes back up. Finally, I was put on Celexa which seems to have no side effects at all.

I called into the radio show and Dr. Tracy sounded horrified when I told her all of this and said what I am on now is a higher concentration of the drug that was in Paxil and that I should slowly ween myself off of it. She said the danger of these drugs is that people can live in a state of mind where they don't know if they are in a dream/nightmare or reality. She said the nightmares that I had on Paxil are one of the most dangerous side effects because people will wake up, not know they are awake and will commit horrifying acts thinking they are still dreaming. Then she sighted the Andrea Yates case and the Brynn & Phil Hartman case.

She has done all sorts of research that shows many of these national news making acts of violence, including Columbine, are because people are on these serritonin inhibitors/anti depressants.

Her research is so compelling and along with other studies, The United Kingdom has just made an announcement that the anti-depressant Paxil should not be used to treat youngsters under the age of 18! There is a lot more research and articles on the dangers of Paxil and other drugs on that websight.

Now there are new American Government studies supporting Dr. Tracy's research! Before she was laughed at and ignored but now people are starting to take notice as other studies are supporting her research.

Now what do I do? The funny thing is that I forgot to bring my Celexa on our vacation and didn't take it for 7 whole days. I don't think I was adversely affected, but to be sure, I am going to slowly ween myself off of it. Yikes! All this to make a buck!

Tomorrow we are going to a benefit concert for Reaching Arms International, the Christian adoption agency we support. It should be fun.

SB and I decided we should work diligently to save money for a house before we try to adopt. Plus, if we find the right lending source, we can get a larger loan than we need and put the extra money into the adoption fees. Sounds like a plan to me. A house means more room for more kids!

Thanks for reading!

4:36 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 12, 2004
3 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink