sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood

Today was a beautiful day! So nice!

It was my last day to sleep in until next weekend and I made the most of it. I slept until 10:30! I prepared for it ahead of times by keeping the cats outside our room all night. Maisey is so jumpy in the mornings. She is in the window, out of the window, in the window, out of the window, on the bed, off the bed, on the bed, in the window, etc. So, a lovely morning was spent sleeping in.

Bob slept in a bit too and then we both got ready for our day. I even shaved my legs!

As I showered, I reflected on my weight loss thus far. 40 lbs is gone, never to return. But it's not like I lost 4 10lb bags of potatoes. The weight came off in tiny incriments all over my body. But I notice it in different places. Like, when I fold my hands. They feel angular and bony and thin. And my feet. I had to tighten the straps on my sandels. My feet look bony now too. And when I shaved my legs, they looked more shapely and my ankles thinner. And the shorts I wore today, though not loose feeling upon initial fit, felt looser and looser as the day went on.

Bob notices the changes more than anyone, including me. No one else has said anything like, "Wow! Look at you! You are losing weight!" So, it must not be that noticible to others yet. But I like the little things I am noticing.

Bob and I went to a church pig roast this afternoon. It was a beautiful day and we had a great time. I also had another breakthrough. Bob purchased a plate and I ate off of his. (I am now the world's cheapest date!) I had about 2 tbsp each of roasted pork, potato salad, and baked beans. NONE of it got stuck and it was all so delicious! I am going to be OK!

The hardest part of today was that while I enjoyed the food and the taste of it all, I couldn't just dig in and pig out. It took me about 45 minutes to eat my 6 tbsp of food. Tiny pieces and tiny bites from now on. But at least I have that. It's just so new. I wish I could have had a whole plate to myself and loaded a bun with bbq'd pork and taken a big bite of it. But I still got to taste it and it was delicious. I don't know why I'm mourning the WAY I ate before. I understand mourning food itself, but not how I eat it.

Anyway, it was a great afternoon. Bob and I got to catch up with many friends, eat yummy food, hug and hold babies, and even check out a fire truck and police car up close and personal. The local police and firemen showed up and everyone had a ball pretending to be police and firemen. It was funny how much the men in our group were as excited as the children were.

We were one of the first people to show up and the among the last to leave. That's the true sign that Bob's having a good time.

I had a great time, talking, playing with the kiddos and taking photos. Also, so many people came up to me to tell me what a blessing my husband is. How could I NOT enjoy that?

Not everyone had a good time though. The pig roast was open to the whole community, but as it was a fundraiser for a missions trip, each plate cost $7.00. Long around 6:30, a brand new black mustang convertable with custom muffler, tires, rims and hub caps pulls up with 4 teenage boys in it. One of our church guys goes up to the car to introduce himself. 5 minutes later he is back and the mustang peels out. He said they thought it was free and when they found out it wasn't, they got mad, swore at the church guy and roared off. Drive a custom car like that and demand a free meal? OK, whatever boys.

Happy Father's Day tomorrow all you dads!

***************************************

A Year Aog Today: June 19, 2003

My husband rocks the casbah! He said we had enough money on the card that I could go and get a couple of things for work. Yay! I fell in love with lots of stuff, but ended up with 3 tops, 1 pair of pants, and a skirt. I also put a dress on hold, and Bob said I could come pick it up today. It's $70! But It's cute and I need a new dress.

There was a CUTE skirt that I really wanted and it was on sale, but the shirt I found to go with it, was $60! I was NOT going to spend $60 on a shirt. But I LOVED that skirt. I was still thinking about it this morning. But at least I can get the dress.

And I really needed the new dress because I am going to the theater! Yesterday I was listening to the Lori and Julia show on FM107 and they were talking about something on older model cars called suicide doors. As they were talking, they said that would be a good band name, but, most likely, someone had already taken it. Being at my desk and perpetually in front of a computer, I Googled "Suicide Doors" and found that indeed there is a band with that name. They are a Bay area band with Cheetah Records. So I decided to call the station to share the info. Their producer answered, I told him what I found. He asked if I wanted to go on the air to talk to Lori and Julia. I kind of hesitated, but decided to go for it and for my effort, I won 2 tickets to The Full Monty! Woo Hoo! These tickets are $40 minimum. This is supposed to be the big new musical. It's playing at the Ordway in St. Paul and I can't wait. I am taking my sister-in-law and we are going on Wednesday. How's that for fun and unexpected?

I think I found the secret to marital compatibilty. The secret is separate beds pushed together. I don't know if I told you this or not, but Bob and I have separate beds. A year ago we were given a brand new queen size bed. We were able to go and pick it out ourselves and it was then purchased for us. At the bed store, I was all about trying out the beds. I like a firm mattress. Bob likes a less firm mattress. But my silly husband was too embarrassed to try out the mattresses to see which one suited him the best. So we got the one I liked. Of course, after sleeping on it for 2 weeks, all he could do was complain about how hard it was. It was frustrating. It's like when people who make it a policy never to vote because the people they vote for aren't ever elected, but they still complain about the government. He didn't try the mattress out!

Anyway, another friend of ours was getting rid of their Select Comfort airbed. They asked us if we would like it. It is a full sized bed. After measuring, we figured it would fit next to the queen size bed in our room. So we took it. Now we have his and hers beds. Bob's next to mine. And he can adjust his bed to his heart's content.

One kind of cool thing, we were given 2 handquilted bedspreads for wedding gifts. We hadn't even registered for these. Both are lovely and in colors I love. One is done in cream, wine, and dark green. The other is white, rose and sage. The darker one is on Bob's bed and the more girly one is on mine. It just works out so well.

Anyway, now we both sleep like babies and wake up rested and comfortable. That's the secret of marital bliss. That and a big fan for white noise.

Thanks for reading.

(Ed: We stil have separate beds, but Bob now sleeps in a single hospital bed. It's much better for him to get in and out of.)

9:35 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 19, 2004
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink