sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Good Holiday Weekend and More Food Lessons Learned

SO I think hamburger is a big no-no for me for now. Saturday night I made taco meat. I made sure I crubled it all up really small so it would be easier for me to eat. I just ate the meat with a little cheese melted on it. Thus began 2 hours of misery. Something got stuck and I spent 2 hours throwing up, sipping coke, and just feeling awful. When it was all done, I just went to bed. No more hamburger for a good long time.

We did get some more pledges in the mail on Saturday and that was good. We also won 2 free tickets to the Twins game in August! Our apartment puts you in a drawing if you get your rent in before the first and for the first time in 2 years, we won! I am going to have to take a day off as it's an afternoon game, but I am really looking forward to it. Can't beat a day at the ballfield.

Sunday was a wonderful day. I went to church without Bob as he wasn't feeling well. Church was wonderful. Good fellowship, good singing time, and good message. We also got the news that the Mexican orpanage we've been praying for for 14 years is finally going to happen. I can't tell you how I sobbed at the news. For some reason, orphans touch the deepest places in my heart. I love them so much and want to care for them. It would be my dream to work in an orphanage. I don't have any training or schooling, but I have a lot of love to give to children who don't have anyone else to love them.

Anyway, after church I decided to stop by the bicycle shop across the alley from our apartment building, just to see what they had and how much it cost. Of course I found a bike I LOVED for the low, low, bargain price of $350.00. NOT CHEAP. But I figure if I save my shekels, I can get one next Spring. I didn't want to wait so long, but I want a nice bike that will last for years to come. This one is a Trek Navigator. It has big old wheels which can support me at this size and as I decrease. And it's a hybrid so it can be used for city and trails. AND it is built for comfort. Now that I know what's out there, I can focus on saving for it.

After my bike dreaming/shopping, I came home, cleaned up and prepared food for the little barbeque we were going to have. I had stopped at the grocery store to pick up some stuff and saw they were having a meal deal. Buy one package of boneless, skinless chicken breasts and you would get cole slaw, barbque sauce, napkins, cookies, and baked beans for free. I snapped up that deal, plus some other stuff. One of Bob's friends from the gas station across the alley was going to join us.

I hooked up our propane tank to the grill and found...no gas. But I am nothing if not resourceful. I dug out our stove-top grill pan and grilled the burgers and chicken on it. It worked just fine. To that, I added home made potato salad, cole slaw, baked beans, and chips and pickles. The guys ate well. I has some grilled chicken Teryaki, a few baked beans and a bite of potato salad. But it was good.

I LOVE fireworks. Bob HATES crowds. For that matter, so do I. So I came up with a great idea. Bob and I went to the building where I work and watched them from our offices on the 13th floor. It was spectacular! We saw at least 10-15 really good displays all over the horizon. And we didn't have to deal with the crowds, the traffic, or the bugs. We saw the diplays from St. Louis Park, Bloomington, Edina, Eden Prairie, Minneapolis and so many more than that. It was just amazing and so much fun. Bob kept saying what a good idea it was and thanked me over and over for coming up with the idea. All we had to do was check in with the building security, sign in, show ID and up we went. It really was a good idea and we had a blast. We were home in under 5 minutes and I was ready for bed soon after.

Today we headed out to Bob's neurologist. Bob did not want to go, but it was a good visit. They are going to start him on some kind of IV steriod once a week. We are hoping they can come to our place to do it, but it looks like maybe he may have to go to Edina to get it done. This is supposed to help with the pain even more than what is already being done. I sure hope so.

Other than that, today is just a day of chilling and doing laundry. Whoo!

11:49 a.m. - Monday, Jul. 05, 2004
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink