sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Great Day for Church Picnic

Yesterday was a beautiful day. A perfect day for a church picnic...which is where we were for much of the day.

It started off a bit rough though. We didn't make it to church though as we had both slept horribly the night before and were both so sore. I finally got up around 9:30 so I could make the potluck item and let Bob sleep another hour. He got up but he was so slow and plodding. I was impatient. Finally we were ready to go, loaded up with a small cooler, a canvas folding chair, the camera AND THEN Bob decides he has to make a phone call. Set everything down and sit and fume...I mean wait. And then he says we have to get gas. *sigh*. We get gas and FINALLY get on the road. 2 blocks away Bob remembers the key to his scooter is at home. *sigh*. We turn around, I probably shut the door to the truck a little too hard when I went in the house to get it.

FINALLY back on the road. It was a little silent on the way. But the closer we got to our destination, the better we did. Then we saw something I have NEVER seen. We were at a stoplight turning right. The cars that had the green, must have had the left turn arrows since both sides were turning left. Except for one guy who sped through the intersection, almost barrelling into a large silver van. Of course the van honked and the guy in the car gave the van a dirty look though he was in the wrong. Before he had traveled 10 feet, a patrol car had it's lights on and had pulled it over. I don't know where the patrol car had been, but I have never seen someone get pulled over like that. Usually you think, "Where are the police when you need them?" Well, this day, they were right where they needed to be.

We got to the picnic at a beautiful park in Eden Prairie. I went to find someone to help Bob get his scooter out of the truck. When I found a couple of guys and sent them over, I saw Bob standing near his scooter, looking like he was about to pull it out by himself. I screamed for him to wait as someone was coming to help. He made a face at me and said something to the guy standing near him. The rest of the day, he was in a mood.

I got him a plate of food and ate some and promptly felt I either ate too fast or something got stuck. The rest of the day I felt blah.

But we stayed. I was talking to some women, one of whom works with the local adoption agency we support. She was talking about a boy and girl in Russia available for adoption...ages 11 and 9. One lady asked me, "Amy would you like to adopt them?" I said, "YES, I would." I really would. The desire to adopt is not the issue. The issue is what to do after we adopt. We have a 700 sq ft 1 bedroom apartment. I suppose we could find bunk beds and we could all sleep in one room. Heh. Anyway, after that, I heard about 2 other women at church who are pregnant and babies and children seemed to be everywhere. It was a little hard to take at some points.

But we watched the relay games, chatted with lots of people and then we all made way for the lake to watch 12 baptisms. It was a beautiful day and a great time to just hang out with people we love and care for.

We got into the truck and immediately I felt sick again. Try driving your car while trying not to vomit.

We made it home in one piece and I just sat there with my puking cup for several minutes. Bob was still in a mood. He said he didn't like people "Babysitting" him. I told him that people just care a lot for him and want to make sure he is OK. He didn't want to hear it at the time.

He took off to visit Mike at the gas station. I stayed home and uploaded the photos from my camera to the computer. Finally, I felt better and got started on cleaning out the bathroom.

Bob came home and was all snuggly and sweet. He said he was sorry. He said this has been a horrible week for him and he knows his attitude has been horrible and he wanted to apologize for being so sad and sassy. I just hug him and tell him of course he's entitled to his bad days or weeks. I will never know how bad he truly has it and he rarely ever complains. He just endures day to day and to me is a hero for all he goes through.

He left again and I finally got the bathroom all cleaned and organized. Now our whole apartment feels clean, organized, and cleaned out of all extranious material. Nothing feels as good as a job well done.

By the time bedtime rolled around, Bob was back and ready to rub my back and it was like night and day. His attitude was positive and happy. He had a plan for the next day and hope for the future. I don't know what happened at the gas station, but he came home a whole new person. Actually, he was back to himself. We couldn't have asked for a better weekend.

6:47 a.m. - Monday, Jul. 26, 2004
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink