sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I Didn't Disappear

I'm here, I'm here. I haven't been feeling well lately and took the day off of work today to rest and try to eat.

Friday night Bob and I went to the home of a couple from our church. They were hosting the men from Bob's men's group and their wives. It was a lovely time. We laughed, we chatted, we ate the hugest steaks I've ever seen in my life. (Well, they ate the huge ones. I had about 1/3 of one.) As we were leaving, Bob noticed that the host, Tom, collected marbles as he did, and thus began the longest walk to the door that ever exhisted. But it was so sweet seeing them share this excitement over their collections. When we got home, I brought out Bob's marble collection and asked him if we could display them as Tom had displayed his and he agreed. So now Bob's marbles are displayed in a vase and in some of our chrystal in the china cabinet. It looks good.

Saturday we took both our cars to Hastings to get looked at by Bob's sister's husband. They own a car repair place and will fix our cars if we make an appointment well enough in advance. It takes about an hour to get there, but it was well worth it. They had Bob's ramp fixed and it looks great! They took 2 metal ramps and afixed them with hinges so it folds. Then they applied no stick pads all the way down. They also put a wheel on it so Bob can slide it in without too much muscle. It is an amazing tool and invention.

We hung out at the In Laws house while BIL was was changing our oil. We watched some olympics and chatted with SIL and the Niece and Nephew. It was nice. Oh, and Bob took a nap.

It turns out that I am going to need new tires and new belts on my car. The belts, BIL can install in a couple of weeks. The tires?? Not sure what we're going to do about that right now. 4 tires will probably run about $250.

We took off so the In laws could get themselves to the pre-season Vikings game at the dome. We made it home in time to watch the game ourselves. I set myself up with leftover steak from the night before and then set out to clean our place.

An hour into it, I had to stop and lie down because I felt so crappy. I felt like I was going to puke, though I didn't, and ended up going to bed. It wasn't even yet 8:30. I slept so well, but woke up feeling crappy and had a headache. I suspected maybe I needed to hydrate some more, so I drank a bunch of water but my stomach still felt blah. I spent the whole day in my jammies on my couch.

Yesterday I woke up still feeling crappy but went to work. I managed to eat some yogurt and it actually felt OK. But by lunch time, the thought of food (not to mention the smell) made me gag and heave into my waste basket. My boss noticed the greenness of my skin and told me to go home, but I managed to stay until everyone had had their lunch and then I went home and promptly fell asleep on the couch.

I woke up in time to watch Growing Up Gotti and Airline but then went to bed. This morning I felt a little better but was still not the best so I stayed home. I managed to keep all my liquid down and even have a bit of an appetite, so I may be eating something tonight, with any luck at all.

While I've been sick, I picked up my crochet hook again and have crocheted 4 full washclothes, a scarf, and the beginnings of a baby blanket. Another journaler I admire asked me if I would be willing to bring oodles of dish clothes to her craft sale later on and I accepted. I've never sold any...just give them as gifts. But this will be fun! I still need to finish my mother's scarf before the snow flies, so hopefully I can get that done before too long. I will have to post some photos before too long. Once I see how they do at the craft sale, I may post some for sale here. We'll see.

So, that should have you about all caught up. I hate being sick. Bob seems to hate it more. He says he feels so helpless because he can't make me feel better. I know how that feels.

3:49 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 17, 2004
4 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink