sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We are the sickies

I had a dental emergency today. Actually, it started yesterday. Actually, it started a few weeks ago, but I thought it was sinus pain and pressure and not tooth pain.

Yesterday it got so bad I was popping Tylenol like it was so much smarties. This morning, I got up early and called my dentist to say I need to come in ASAP. I got an 8:40 appt. I went in and she tapped my teeth which didn't feel great. Then she pressed them with cold and BOY did that hurt the selected tooth! So she filed down the tooth with the filling and the corresponding bottom tooth. Then she said that the filling probably offset my bite and maybe damaged the nerve a bit. She gave me 800 mg of ibuprofen to take every 6 hours. If I don't feel better by Friday morning, I am to fill a perscription for an antibiotic in case there is an infection as well. If I still don't feel better by Monday, I am to call and set up an appointment for a root canal! No! I asked her what exactally is a root canal and apparently it's when they take the nerve from your tooth. I asked her if they would put me out for it...no...just numb me up. No!!!!! So, here's hoping the ibuprofen and antibiotic work.

Bob was supposed to start school today but didn't. He isn't feeling well. It's kind of complicated, but it has to do with his pain meds. He goes to the pain clinic once a month to get the once over and a new perscription for his pain meds. The only trouble is that some days he is in more pain than others so he takes 1 or 2 more pills than he is perscribed for a day. At the end of the month, he has to ration and conserve so he doesn't run out completely before his next appointment. The problem with that is that his body goes into withdrawal and he begins to feel feverish, clammy, he gets the runs, he feels like vomiting, and he can't sleep. His monthly appointment is tomorrow so today he is feeling ill with the withdrawal symptoms and that's why he missed his first day of school. Tomorrow is our anniversary (3 Years! Yay!) and I hope he feels better by then...if he doesn't we will postpone until the weekend.

So that's us...the sickies. I sure hope this ibuprofen works and we don't have to go the root canal route. Bah!

Hope y'all are having a better day.

10:54 a.m. - Tuesday, Sept. 28, 2004
7 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink