sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Telling About Our Weekend

Did you see the Northern Lights last night? I missed them! And I hear they were spectacular!

It was a beautiful weekend. I awoke early on Saturday, as is my habit lately. I've been thinking about that. I think that perhaps with all the extra weight I'd gained, I had also gained some sleep apnea. I used to be able to sleep and sleep and sleep and I'd still wake up exhausted, feeling like I hadn't slept at all. Now, I have to be in bed by 10 and I am fully awake by 6 or 6:30...7:30 at the very latest on the weekends.

Anyway, on Saturday I cleaned up the apartment and began a couple of projects. In the midst of them, Bob said he wanted to go to the store. So off we went. Got back, put stuff away and then we just hung out listening to music and enjoying the day. Around 4, I asked if Bob didn't want to go for a walk. He did. So we walked. And we walked. And we walked. It ended up being about a 3 mile, hour and a half walk. But it was so nice outsied and there were so many fun things to see and people to talk to along the way. And the sunset was amazingly beautiful. We encountered a woman, her 4 kids and their CUTE doggie, Moey. Moey was busy swimming in Minnehaha creek, chasing the rocks the kids were throwing him to fetch. They were all in great spirits. As if nature were throwing them a party. Moey came to investigate us and gave my hand a lick before he ran back to the creek to chase a pair of ducks that had just descended. We also crossed the neatest wood footbridge and had a beautiful view of the creek and the sunset and all of nature along the trail.

When we got home, my butt hurt in that good exercise-y way and I was glad to sit down once we got home. I also got to watch LOST which I had taped, but then had accidently taped over. But ABC showed a repeat of it Saturday night. Man, that's a good show.

Sunday was nice in that I didn't do a darn thing. I did make a yummy dinner in the crockpot, but that's about it. I made porkchops in the crockpot and added some scalloped potatoes and green beans. I made the green beans my new favorite way and now they are Bob's and my favorite ways to eat green beans. Empty a can of green beans into a microwave safe dish. Sprinkle liberally with Mrs. Dash's lemon pepper salt substitute, add 1 tbsp of butter and 1/4 tsp of rosemary. Microwave for 2-4 minutes. Once it comes out, stir and serve. Yum! They are tender, tasty and oh so good.

I had a mini meltdown last night though. I was fretting over our finances and thinking that I would get a part time job to work evenings and weekends so that we could pay off some of our hospital/doctors bills and maybe have some more money for fun stuff. I thought if I got a job at a local health club, I could work out for free and still make some extra money. When I brought this up to Bob, he absolutely refused. He actually got to the point where he forbid me to look for work. I was all, "No you d'int!" We worked it out, but not before I had a good cry and was all snarfy and sad. For now, no part time job...but we'll see what happens.

My last call on Friday at work was a nightmare. A banker called from California at 5pm on a Friday night. She said she had faxed an application at 11:30 her time/1:30 our time and wanted to know if we had received it. I relayed to her that our data entry team, the team of people who take care of that, had all left for the day and wouldn't be back until Monday. This was bad for the banker as she was leaving the next day for a 10 day vacation and she needed to know NOW if we received her application. Never mind that between 1:30 and 5, there are 4 1/2 hours where she COULD have called, she was calling NOW. She was uncivil, negative and quite bitchy. She said that maybe "we" should work with another insurance company since the one she was talking to wasn't catering to California hours and wasn't open until 7. I begged to differ and said we weren't the insurance company, but instead the administrative back office for bankers and we were, in fact, open until 7, it was just that the data entry team was gone for the day. After going around and around with this woman, I finally just asked her to fax me the app and I would look it over. "There you go! That's what I wanted. Was that so hard?" This was her response. Once she faxed it, I saw she had changed the interest rate and had not had the customer initial the change. She insisted she had. Yes, she had, on the application, but not on the owner acknowledgement. I told her she must have the customer initial and then send the originals to us. Then she said, "Oh, well the customer is still here, so I will have him initial." Ummmm, it's been 4 1/2 hours since you SAID you first faxed us the app and the customer is STILL there? $100 says we get the original paperwork back and the initials on the application won't match the initials on the acknowledgement. It's called forgery and bankers aren't above doing it in order to avoid dealing with questioning customers. Anyway, this banker was quite the piece of work and I, for one, am glad we won't have to deal with her for the next 10 days.

Hope your day is filled with Northern Lights and spectacular sunsets and fun dogs named Moey who will lick you hand in a gesture of friendship and fun.

6:38 a.m. - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004
3 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink