sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Passing Time on a Saturday

Last night Bob and I watched a video his doctor gave him. It was all about a morphine pump that distributes pain medication directly to the spinal column in order to block pain reception to the brain. When we talked about it, I was all for it. Then I saw it and where they put it and I was a little grossed out. But it's up to Bob. He's the one who lives in pain everyday and this seems like a viable option for him. We don't know if insurance will cover it or if he is a good candidate for it yet, but he is going to talk to his doctor about it. They take this pump and insert it under the skin in your abdomen in what they call "A skin pocket". Then they string a cathether to the spinal column and set the pump with a special infared computer. It's all very high tech, but also a little daunting and scary.

Last night I started to have second doubts about this walk/fund raiser. Can I do this? Is this something that I can really do? Like the morphine pump, it seems a little scary and daunting. But I think if I put one foot in front of the other and just do one training at a time, I should be OK. It's just important not to look at the whole big thing at once or I'll get overwhelmed and chicken out.

I need to find a consignment shop. I have all my former fat clothes and many of them are in perfect shape. I will peruse the yellow pages and see what I can find.

Not much is planned for the weekend. I cleaned and am now waiting to vacuum. Bob hates it when I vacuum when he's home, so I'm waiting until he goes out to do it. He says the noise makes him anxious. Ummmm...OK! I'm standing right over it and it doesn't bother me, but whatever.

And in closing, 2 Memes that have been floating around...and 1 of which was "sent" to me.

1.) WHAT'S THE TOTAL AMOUNT OF MUSIC FILES ON YOUR COMPUTER?
Ummm... I think it would be safe to say, 0mgs. I don't download songs. I never got on that bus and wouldn't know how to do it now or what to do with it were I taught. I do listen to streaming radio stations and CDs. I have probably 90 CDs though.

2.)WHAT WAS THE LAST CD YOU BOUGHT?
I think it was Salvador. I love me some latin beat music. Mmmm Latin men!


3.) WHAT WAS THE LAST SONG LISTENED TO BEFORE GETTING THIS MESSAGE?
Man, I listen to a lot of talk radio so I don't even remember...Oh! Yeah! I was working out listening to 80's pop and the last song was Soft Cell singing Tainted Love.


4.) WRITE DOWN FIVE SONGS YOU OFTEN LISTEN TO OR THAT MEAN A LOT TO YOU.
when I do listen to music, I listen to a lot of Christian music. I find that a lot of the rock music christian artists write resonates with me, so most of my "5 songs" are Christian rock.

A.) Who Am I? by Casting Crowns
B.) Beauty of the Lord by
Despiration Band
C.) Walk By Faith by Jeremy Camp
D.) Anything by Charlie Peacock
E.) Anything by Rich Mullins
F.) Treasures in Heaven by Burlap
to Cashmere.

And the song that really means the most to me is by FFH. It's called Move Me. It's a song that Bob and I call "our song" because we happened to hear it at the exact time in our young dating lives that we needed to hear it.

5.) WHO ARE YOU GONNA PASS THIS STICK TO (THREE PERSONS) AND WHY?

A.) Robyn To see if she buys as much music for her computer as she buys books for her shelves.

B.) Yvonne Because I'm interested to see what she listens to in her free time.

C.) Sandy Because I wonder if she's as music savvy as she is computer savvy.


Now if you were to ask me about photography and digital photos and how many pictures are stored on our computer, that would be another thing entirely.

MEME # 2:

1.) Using Mapquest, how may miles is it from your house to your parent�s house? 289.48 Miles. That's much too far most of the time. SOB!

2.) Google your first and last name in quotes. How many results were found?
129 Results. Mostly teacher/student and college related. And then some of me from other websites I have frequented. I bet that would be higher if I Googled my first name and maiden name.

3.) What room in your house is too small? Our whole apartment is too small.

4.) What room is too large? Well, the bathroom is unusually large to accomodate a wheelchair and that's nice.

5.) Name of your third grade teacher? Mrs. Bolden. She was awesome. She had a chinchilla in our room and she ran a dog bording/grooming facility that we took our dog too from time to time.

6.) How much money did you make at your first job? I can't remember. I used to babysit for a dollar an hour. Then I detassled corn for the summer and made...probably $300 which was a fortune if you were 13/14 years old. But my first real job was at a nursing home kitchen. I made minimum wage in 1984-1986. It was also my first real experience with FICA and with holding.

7.) Favorite donut? I haven't had a donut since before my surgery in May, but my favorites were always the chocolate frosted or glazed twist.

8.) Name(s) of you next door neighbor(s)? No idea. There are African Americans on both side of us. On the right side is a man and wife and child and on the other are 2 soccer playing, car running in the garage guys.

9.) Genre of music you can�t stand?
Gansta rap...or any rap for that matter. Bah!

10.) Last thing bid on ebay?
The owl necklace I wore to the 70's work event I attended in October.

11.) How much cash in your wallet?
You're kidding right? Maybe .30? We're flat broke right now.

Anyway, happy Saturday everyone! Stay safe.

12:39 p.m. - Saturday, Jan. 29, 2005
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink