sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Only Certainties in Life Are Death and Taxes and the Fact That Your Computer Will Mess Up Your Taxes. And Maybe Your Death

Saturday: Got up early enough that when my chores for the day were done, it was still only 9am and that's when I sat down to do our taxes. Took me until 3pm. I printed, I e-filed, I stapled everything together and felt the satisifaction of having that horrible task done. The end result, I nice refund that will pay for a laptop and maybe some other bills.

The rest of the day was for errand running and husband hanging out with. Nice...I just ended a sentence with a preposition. Anyway, it was an easy afternoon. Oh! I did make a yummy new recipe:
ground beef/turkey
taco seasoning
refried beans
large pasta shells

While you are browning the ground beef, set water to boil about half the box of pasta shells. While they are cooking, add the taco seasoning to the meat then add the refried beans. Then add some cheddar cheese to the bean/beef mixture. Once the shells are cooked, rinse them and fill them with the bean/beef mixture. fill the bottom of a baking dish with your favorite salsa and set the filled pasta shells on top. Once you've filled the baking dish, sprinkle cheese over the top and cover the baking dish with tin foil and bake at 350 for 40 minutes. YUM! Top with more salsa, sour cream and your favorite mexican condiments. So good!

Sunday: We had about half a foot of snow. I went to church but Bob stayed home. The service was good and it was good to be there, though the roads to church were deceptively slippery and I did a lot of sliding and slipping around. After church I went to lunch with a friend and it was fun and yummy. The roads were still slippery on the way home, so once I got home, I called the lady with the van and cancelled. She said she was glad we cancelled because of the roads and their condition. So, we postponed for Saturday. Which...still. $6,000 - $6,000,000? Same thing to us.

Since I was home and now had nothing to do, and had our taxes done, I thought I would get a jump on things and apply for financial aid for the second semester of school. I got 10 minutes into the task when I realized there was something wrong with our taxes. On the sheet that printed, only my income was listed. Bob's SSI income was not listed. So I went back to the software and on the computer, it was listed on the worksheet...but the worksheet says it does not qualify as taxible income. Still, Bob has paid over a thousand dollars in taxes and if it's not considered taxible, we should get that back. I couldn't figure out why Bob's income is not listed on the taxes form. On the form we already filed. On the form that lists all our income for 2004. Start tempertantrum, meltdown.....here! I actually burst into tears, threw down the paperwork, went into the bedroom and buried myself in my warm, warm covers. Bob came in after a while and said as far as he can tell, it appears to be a glitch with the software. He offered to call the IRS...I know! Call the IRS today to see what they say. And then we made out. Nothing says foreplay like taxes and the IRS! Whoot!

Still, I am full of anxiety and want to go out today and get the paper forms and fill them out by hand and see how it turns out. I know! I'm crazy, but this is not sitting well with me and is making me not able to sleep. I woke up, wide awake, unable to fall back to sleep at 3:30 this morning. I have been up since 3:30! Riddled with tax preparation anxiety. Why does everything have to be so hard for us? Sheesh. Last year, I managed to do our taxes just fine and we had more complicated stuff last year. This year, only w2s and some line-item deductions. Not complicated, but certainly time consuming. This is really driving me crazy and I just want someone to look it over and fix it. Even if it means delaying out return. Just so it's right.

So, that was our weekend. Happy President's Day!

4:59 a.m. - Monday, Feb. 21, 2005
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink