sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Spring Fever

Happy tax week!

First, the weekend.

Friday night I stopped by Papa Murphy's to pick up our regular Friday night treat, a large Delite Meat pizza. Yum!

I got home, baked our dinner and began to clean. We ate then I cleaned some more. I worked 50 hours total at work and instead of coming home and kicking back, I cleaned our apartment. Yes, I am weird.

Saturday I met my mom and dad at their hotel and then went gallavanting around with them. I was surprised that my dad would want to go with me and mom as we shopped, but we really had a good time. It was fun, but being as I had no cash, my fun was limited.

We went to a couple of estate sale type places and then hit a couple of consignment stores. One of the consignment stores had a pair of Ralph Loren pants and a pair of Levi's jeans in my new size. I tried them both on and they both fit perfectly. I left the fitting room smiling and happy, but wishing I had the money to buy them. I've never owned anything remotely designer or Levi's anything.

Dad took us to lunch and soon after, we parted ways. I miss my folks and was happy to spend time with them, but I also missed my husband and wanted to go for a walk with him before it got too late.

I got home and Bob was up and waiting for me. We got the mail and SURPRISE! We had 2 checks waiting for us. One was from our apartment complex. We had refered a friend to the office and they moved in. We got some cash for the referal! We also received one of our rebate checks from my laptop purchase in March. So, after telling Bob about the pants at the consignment store, he said I could take the checks to the bank and get the pants on the way home! So I did! I now own my very first pair of designer pants and my very first pair of Levi's jeans! Whoo hoo! I also talked to the gal at the store about bringing some of my stuff in and she was up for it since they need larger sizes.

I got home and showed off my new purchases to Bob who really liked them. Actually, he liked my butt in them, but still.

We went for a walk and though it was sunny and warm, it was really windy.

Once we got back, I dove into all the clothes I had on hand and began the arduous task of dividing it all up. I had one pile of "keeps", one pile of "consignment", one pile of "goodwill" and one very small pile of "toss". Then I also organized everything into seasons. The Fall and Winter stuff went back into the closet while the Spring and Summer stuff went into the dresser. I have 3 garbage bags full of clothes for Goodwill and probably a couple dozen things to take to the consignment store, though I have to press most of it first. Wheee!

Sunday was church, of course. Bob and I were on alter team and had the privilege of praying for a delightful woman who moved here recently from the San Francisco area where she had lived all her life til now. Then she, another friend, Bob and I went to lunch together. It was lovely. Though I filled up on too many chips and salsa and had to bring almost all my dinner home. Oh well, more for lunches this week!

Once we were home, I decided to clean out our fridge. We had a bunch of old food in there that needed to be cleaned. I did dishes, baked Bob a cake and made dinner. Oh! Dinner was awesome and it was something I just made up. Here it is:

Mexican Lasagna

1lb ground beef/chicken/ground turkey
1 packet taco seasoning
4 large tortillas
1 large onion
1 can refried beans
Your favorite taco cheese

Slice up the onion and sautee in frying pan before adding the meat to brown. Brown meat and then add the taco seasoning. Cook according to package directions. While this is cooking, heat can of refried beans.

Soak tortillas in the meat/liquid mixture. Put one tortilla at the bottom of your favorite baking dish. Spread beans on bottom of tortilla and then add taco meat mixture. Cover meat with shredded cheese and then layer more tortillas, beans, meat and cheese until you use up all your tortillas. Spread a little salsa and cheese on the top tortilla and cook in a 350 degree oven for about 20-25 minutes. Cut and serve. Delish!

I went to bed early...asleep by 8:30.

I got up at 5 and was at work by 6 this morning. It was very busy and it looks like it will be so all week. I work Mon-Saturday this week and am looking forward to the overtime. Oh! And Bob called and said another of our computer rebate checks had arrived today! Yay!

So, while the work schedule is a little grueling, things are good. Also, we noticed while we were out and about this weekend that we are FINALLY getting buds on our trees! Also, yesterday, we had a little bit of a thunder storm in the morning. Nothing big, but a little thunder here and there, which really makes it feel like Spring!
***************************************
On May first, I am going to be walking a walk for the March of Dimes because I am all about the babies. Today in the U.S., 1 in every 8 babies will be born prematurely. Some of them won't survive, and others will have health problems that could last a lifetime. The funds we raise in WalkAmerica support research that saves babies' lives. The mission of the March of Dimes is to improve the health of babies by preventing birth defects and infant mortality. Here's how you can help me to help The March of Dimes:
� Sponsor My Walk
� Tell a Friend
� Sign up to Walk
Go here to pledge money to my walk. Thanks to everyone who helps out this very important cause.
***************************************

6:38 p.m. - Monday, Apr. 11, 2005
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink