sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Busy, Busy, Busy

Less than a week until the Walk America money is due. If you want to hel, scroll to the bottom of this entry and click the link. Special thanks to all who have already agreed to sponsor me. You should too! All the cool kids are.

You would think that things would slow down now that tax day has come and gone. And while they have slowed at work considerably, my life is speeding up to warp drive.

Tonight is an eye appointment I have been avoiding. I know I will need bi-focals and am not looking forward to that, nor the cost.

Tomorrow is a pot-luck at work I have to prepare for, a pick-up by the Disabled American Vets of clothing donations, and...AND my first day of school! Technically, it's just orientation and my first real day is on Monday. But still!

I was going crazy trying to find the folder of paperwork the school had sent me to fill out. I finally found it this morning in the exact place I had stashed it for safe keeping until I needed it. I was also going crazy trying to locate my immunization records. Apparently it's the law in this state that if you attend any kind of school and were born after 1956, you HAVE to supply this information. Well, we moved a lot when I was young and I had NO idea where I would find this info. The clinic I go to here didn't have any info. The clinic I attended as a high schooler didn't have much either. Thankfully my mommy is a good record keeper and had all the dates, locations, doctors and types of shots I received up through my boosters in 1984. What an amazing woman! (It was also funny to read her take on my little personality when I was a baby. She noted my definite temper at age 1 month. She also made note of how, when I learned to sqeal, I would do so. Constantly. Apparently, I was very adept at the sqealing. Hee.)

So, tonight is the eye doctor, making a pot luck item, getting our DAV donations ready for pick up, and getting my school stuff ready! I need a new trapper keeper, #2 pencils and a pink rubber eraser! Plus some college ruled notebook paper and...a school box! Actually, I have everything I KNOW I need, but those things remind me of school and the preparations. I can't wait!

Last week I managed to get 60 hours in and the week before, 50. That will make for a very good check. We are doing so well right now that Bob encouraged me to get a few more clothes so I'm ready for Spring and school. I went to CJ Banks and got a shirt for $5, a summer sweater for $10 and 2 pairs of Khaki pants for $10 each. LOVE them. Although all their clearance stuff is mostly in sizes 14 and 24 and I wear a 20 or 18. Still, I did OK. I also went to Target and bought some new underwear, socks and a bra. Why is it, no matter how well we are or aren't doing, I feel decidedly less than well off if my underwear is illfitting and/or raggedy and if my socks have holes in them. We could be on the brink of financial disaster, but as long as I have underwear that fits and socks that are whole, I won't fear. Anyway, I got some cute underthings and a great 12 pack of socks. Gotta love Target.

Speaking of doing or not doing well. Sunday was a beautiful day here in MN. Bob had to work so I decided to make the most of a beautiful day and go looking at open houses in our area. BIG mistake.

The first house I looked at is just up the streat from our apartment complex. From the outside, it appears to be a tiny 1 floor rambler. I was right. It had 2 tiny bedrooms and 1 tiny bath. A sun room, a kitchen, living and dining room. They had finished the basement so total living space was 2100 sq ft. They were asking $269,900. It wouldn't have worked for us anyway since the bedrooms and bath were too small to accomodate Bob's chair. But still. The foundation size was only 1300 sq ft!

Next, I visited some new condos across the block from where I work. Another big mistake. The one bedroom was going for $209,000. The one bedroom plus den, 249,900 and the 2 bedroom, $309,900. The one bedroom had about 900 sq ft.

As I was driving, I came across a twin/manor home with an open house. This place would have been PERFECT for us had the price not been $379,900! It had all the things we need on one level. It had a big living room, a large kitchen with eating area. A fireplace, a nice deck/patio area. It had 2 bedrooms and a large master bath, a powder room and a laudry area. Then, downstairs, they had finished half of the basement. There was a den, large bathroom, closet and bedroom we could use for guests. The whole place was about 2500 sq ft and it was sunny and bright and lovely. And $379,9000! Plus $200/month association fees to cover lawn maintenence, snow removal, building repair and hazard insurance. It also had a 2-car attached garage with doors into both the laundry area AND the kitchen.

I also stopped at a new building site where they are building single level detached townhomes. The homes start at $289,900 with lot deposits of $10,000 or $15,000 depending on which home you "order".

So it appears if we want to buy, we will probably have to move far enough West, North or South that the housing market isn't so expensive. But then I will have to commute an hour or more each way to work and we will spend lots more in gas than we do now. Blech.

Sunday is my 11 month anniversary of the day I had gastric bypass surgery. Next month is my 1 year check up. I think all will be well.
***************************************
I am almost halfway to my goal! I have until Monday, April 25th to make it. Help me and help the little babies! On May first, I am going to be walking a walk for the March of Dimes because I am all about the babies. Today in the U.S., 1 in every 8 babies will be born prematurely. Some of them won't survive, and others will have health problems that could last a lifetime. The funds we raise in WalkAmerica support research that saves babies' lives. The mission of the March of Dimes is to improve the health of babies by preventing birth defects and infant mortality. Here's how you can help me to help The March of Dimes:
� Sponsor My Walk
� Tell a Friend
� Sign up to Walk
Go here to pledge money to my walk. Thanks to everyone who helps out this very important cause.
***************************************

1:37 p.m. - Tuesday, Apr. 19, 2005
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink