sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dreaming Dreams and Praying Prayers

Today is the 11th month anniversary of my gastric bypass surgery. To commemorate the day, I present...pictures. These are me in my new, size 18 Ralph Lauren pants. The shirt looks orange, but it's really more of a coral/peachy/pink color. The shirt is my $5.00 CJ Banks find. Whoot!

I haven't taken photos of me in the Levis yet, but I will. These were actually taken on the 20th, but I saved them to post today.

So, I went and looked at the condo yesterday. I have to admit, I LOVED it! It is perfect for us. It's 2 bedrooms, attached garage, no steps, no stairs, perfectly sized and felt just like home. BUT it's 50 miles from my job and miles from anywhere. We would have to drive and drive and drive everywhere. The nearest SuperTarget is 25 miles away. Hee.

While there, I met a very nice couple who have lived there for 3 weeks. They LOVE it there and they seemed so very nice. My heart is just drawn to the place. But it's so far. I don't mind the drive. I really don't. But I was thinking. What if something happened to Bob? I would be an hour or more away. Right now, I am 5 minutes away. It's true...we can't afford anything here. We just can't. And to find anything affordable, we would have to move further out of the burbs into the actual country. But I don't know if now is the right time.

I talked to my dad and heard from my mom and they brought up good points. I just started school and will be done in a year and a half. We should maybe wait until then. Maybe I will have better job opportunities and we can move then...when the pay might be better and the opportunities might be available to live close to work.

Then again, who knows what the future brings? Maybe this is our chance? Maybe we won't have another opportunity to find something so affordable that so perfectly meets our needs for accessibility. Man, it's so hard to know what to do.

It's so easy to give in to the fear and say no. It's safer to rent. It's normal, it's what we know. We aren't liable for where we live and if we ever get into a scrape where we can't afford the rent, it isn't so scary.

But we have to grow up and face our responsibilities some time. Is now the time? Can we afford this? Is it worth it? Should we wait? Should we go for it? All we can do right now is pray...which is what we are doing.

In case you want to see what I saw yesterday, here is the link to the online photo albumn. You'll be asked to type in your name and email address and then choose a password. This ensures the privacy of my pictures and also sets up your own password-protected account on Snapfish. It's free and easy and they don't bother you or sell your email info. At least they didn't before they were bought by HP. It's so hard to let go of something I want so badly.

***************************************
I made it to my goal! My personal goal was $500 and I now have $505! But you can help. As Sandy said in yesterday's comments section, every little bit helps and a lot of $5 donnations can help the March of Dimes. Thanks Sandy! And thanks to everyone who donated to the walk and The March of Dimes! Thans to my friends online and otherwise, Sunny (Dawn), Jenn, Kris, SuAnn, Karen (Cosmic), Annie Jennifer, Laura, Helen. Thanks to my family, Dad & Mom and Grandma and Aunt Sharon. And finally, thanks to my co-workers, Nina, Shelly, Greg, Seth, Bruce, Cindy, and Mary. and Brenda for your donations! Help me to help the March of Dimes. Here's the lowdown: Next Sunday, May first, I will be walking a 7-10 mile walk for the March of Dimes, because we are all about the babies. We will walk rain or shine and we walk for people like these families. We will be using our feet to give premature babies a hand.

Today in the U.S., 1 in every 8 babies will be born prematurely. Some of them won't survive, and others will have health problems that could last a lifetime. The funds we raise in WalkAmerica support research that saves babies' lives. The mission of the March of Dimes is to improve the health of babies by preventing birth defects and infant mortality. Here's how you can help me to help The March of Dimes:
� Sponsor My Walk
� Tell a Friend
� Sign up to Walk
Go
here to pledge money to my walk. Thanks to everyone who helps out this very important cause.
***************************************

Monday is my first full day of class and I cannot tell you or explain to you how very excited I am. Also, how very nervous. I hope I can do this. I hope I can make it. And not just make it, but excell.

Next Saturday I have to attend a mandatory writing workshop from 8:30-12:30 at the school. I wonder what I will learn? I hope I do well.

11:40 a.m. - Sunday, Apr. 24, 2005
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink