sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Doing Everything I Can To Avoid Homework

I had good intentions to finish all my homework yesterday. For some reason I just couldn't get it done. I had laptop on lap and notes and book near by and yet nothing but a paragraph was completed by bedtime last night. I did manage to make home made hamburger pizza though. And take a nap. And bake cookies. And have some husband/wife time with Bob. So it wasn't a totally wasted day.

Today was MUCH better though. I got up around 8:30, rubbed Bob for about half an hour so he wasn't so achey. The sun was out and it was so beautiful! I put Maisey out on her lead for a while and laughed while she lolled about in sunny patches in the yard. She was loving it.

I washed all our dishes, took out the trash, and started a roast for dinner, made some decalf coffee and then ran out of things to procrastinate doing my homework.

I FINALLY sat down and began my last essay for the class I'm in right now. I got about half way through it when Bob woke up and started talking to me. And talking to me. And talking to me. Realizing that he needed to chat, I decided to make him some breakfast. I made his favorite, eggs over easy, bacon and toast. I have to say that he really appreciated it. After cleaning up all the breakfast dishes, he went for a walk and I finished my essay. I don't know why it was so hard, but every word was like pulling teeth. I finally finished it and by the time it was done, I no longer cared if it was good or not...I just wanted to be done with it.

Once I finished that, I had to create a power point presentation as my final project. I have never used Power Point before so that was quite the interesting endeavor. But I did it. 4 whole slides, a handout for my class, 4 extra reading resources and an extra handout to support my topic. Also, I typed out my presentation so I could practice it. Tomorrow I will put it on notecards. Whew.

Once I was done with that, it was time to make dinner. I whipped up some instant mashed potatoes, heated some frozen green beans, opened a can of beef gravy and sliced up the roast beef. I have to say it was a very yummy dinner. The meat was tender and flavorful and everything else complimented it very nicely.

I washed up all those dishes and sat down to watch Star Wars Episode 2, Attack of the Clones on TV. I have to say it was kind of boring. I hope the third one is more interesting because I really want to see that one.

I don't know why I still have so much anxiety over my schoolwork. I've now turned in all 5 assignments and have only received grades back on 2. Out of a possible 30 points, I earned 26 on one assignment and 25 on the other. The stuff I turned in last week has not yet been graded and of course, the essay I turned in today has not been graded yet either. (We turn in our assignments via electronic means. We can upload them to our professor's electronic mailbox and then he returns them electronically as well. It's a cool system but the ease and simplicity of it means I check my grades at least 3 times a day to see if they've been returned.)

I wonder if it will always be like this while I'm in school. Will I always doubt my ability to complete my homework? Will I always struggle to complete it in a timely manner? Will I always struggle with my own self and abilities to write something coherant and understandable? I sure hope not.

Oh! Something else Bob and I did last night. We planned our annual vacation. We are going to Florida again in January. We are going to stay for 10 days. We are going to stay one whole week at his sister's time share again and stay 3 nights in a hotel on the ocean in Daytona. Can't. Wait. We found a hotel on ocean side for under $100 per night and we found flights for under $250 round trip. We can't book anything yet, but we just wanted a starting place to begin budgeting. Any and all extra money is going into the vacation budget. Whoot! Hope the weather is just as nice. I will be missing 1 class, but it's worth it to get away from snow, cold and ice once a year. Yay! I am also going to look for online car rental deals that might allow us to upgrade to a convertable at a regular car price. We got such a good deal last time by planning in advance, hope we can do the same this time. Since we will be paying for our own airfare, we can plan for a direct flight both ways as well. Sun Country had the cheapest flight for the best price whcn I checked last night, so I will keep my eyes open and hope for a better deal as we get closer.

Tomorrow is my one year check up with my bariatric surgeon. Tuesday is my one year anniversary. Can't believe it's been a year already. I will have photos...probably by Tuesday. Mondays are always so busy what with work and class and tomorrow promises to be even more so what with the check up and everything. But stay tuned!

7:06 p.m. - Sunday, May. 22, 2005
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink