sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Writing From The Classroom

I'm in class right now. We are talking about resume organization and design. Fun! Nothing I hate more than resume writing. Bah!

Today was a day I wish I could have played hooky. It was a beautiful day. Sunny, 80 degrees, light breezes. So nice. It's supposed to be rainy tomorrow and Wednesday.

I called my doctor and made an introductory appointment for Thursday morning. This is the appointment that starts exploring why Bob and I have not yet conceived. I don't know what to expect. I don't know what she will start with, if she will refer me elsewhere or if she will do the exams. I will let you know how it goes.

My friend Jen mentioned in my comments that she likes Janet Evanovich and she asked how many books I've read of hers. To be honest, I've only read her newest, Metro Girl and I wasn't impressed with it. It didn't draw me in and I didn't get into the characters at all. However, I have listened to 3 of her books on tape. The first one I listened to was "To the Nines", next was "Four to Score" (I think) and the one I'm listening to now is ... crap. I can't remember the title of the one I'm currently listening to! Anyway, the books on tape rock. C.J. Crit is the reader and she does an awesome job with tone, inflection, voices, and characters. I laugh out loud all the time, though I am often surprised at her use of profanity. What I've heard, I've enjoyed and now I'd like to check out her actual books to read. The only issue is that I don't have a lot of free time to read now that I'm in school. I listen to the books on tape in my car and while I'm walking, so that works into my schedule really well. My local libary has tons of fiction on tape and I always find 3 or 4 to check out every couple of weeks.

In response to yesterday's entry about making my first meal at the age of 7 or 8, my mom said the reason she was so worried about me making this grand meal of hotdogs (and it turns out that I heated a can of baked beans as a side!), is because we had a gas stove and I had the flames pretty high. She will be the first to tell you that she and dad did not have to do much to teach me independence. I pretty much came out of the shoot wanting to do things myself and in my own way. In fact, I have gotten the impression that she was kind of hurt by how self reliant I was at such a young age. I think she would have prefered me to be less so when I was little. Just something I wanted to bring up. My folks were awesome about instilling a work ethic and habits and family chores, but the self reliance and independence thing was something I was born with. My parents just had to learn how to channel my independent nature. They had the hardest job.

9:02 p.m. - Monday, Jun. 06, 2005
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink