sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Catching Up With Y'all

I tried to write an entry last Thursday. It was long and personal and I was even thinking that I had turned a phrase pretty well. What happened to that entry? Did you know that if you accidentally hit the F5 button, even by accident that you will lose everything you just typed? It is true. Everything! It is just too hard to get the drive to rewrite it all again after that.

So, last week. It was long and very busy. I had class, I babysat my boss�s 6-month old daughter, I made dinner two nights in a row, and I was sick on Friday. I had some kind of stomach bug or food poisoning, but I am all better now.

The weekend went well. Saturday was busy. I was up by 8 and started to clean our apartment. Since school started, I have been good about picking up, but not so good about cleaning. I even filed all the papers that had been building up on our desk. It felt good to get things clean and snazzy again. After I cleaned, I ran a couple of errands. We had a potluck that I needed to buy for and I wanted to make some smoothies and needed some ingredients. I ended up buying a key lime pie and some pasta salad mixes for the potluck. For smoothies, I bought yogurt, coconut milk, frozen fruit, and some honey. Here is my smoothie recipe and it ROCKS! 1-cup plain yogurt, � cup coconut milk (found in the Asian cooking section in cans), one tbls honey, 1 to 2 scoops whey protein powder, and 1 cup of your favorite fruit ( I bought strawberries, black berries, raspberries and a bag of mixed berries). Mix in a blender and pour in a LARGE glass. Add ice if you want it cooler. It is yummy and oh so good for you. Later on, after I got home, Bob and I decided to go out and about. While we were out, we saw a cat tree for sale and ended up getting it for our kitties. It stands about 5 feet tall and is carpeted in wine and tan carpet with a fluffy lamb�s wool cat bed at the very top. We also stopped at a coin shop so Bob could see what he could see. He collects rare, old and unique coins and is like a kid in a candy store when we go to this place. After that, we stopped at Circuit City to see what they had for rolling laptop bags. They had what I wanted, but I did not want to pay when they were charging. I thought I would go home and look online for something cheaper.

After all that running, we went to some friend�s house for dinner and fellowship and had a lovely time. They have three kids with 1 on the way and are great people. In fact, he married us! We only see them a couple of times a year because when you have three kids, it is hard to get together with people. In addition, they do not go to our church anymore, which is where we used to see them all the time. We miss them and enjoy their company immensely. Besides that, they are incredibly wise and gave us good advice for when we begin our parenting years and they prayed for us to become that which our hearts long for, calling out that which is not yet, as though it is. They are due with their fourth child at the beginning of September. They know it is going to be a boy, so that gives them 3 boys and 1 girl. (Or one princess, as she likes to be called.)

There is a gal at work that says she is feeling left out of things. At first, I sympathized with her and really tried to include her in things, but the other day I was talking to my boss about some things going on in her life. Earlier in the week, I stopped by her office and we chatted about what was going on with her. Then, later in the week, she stopped by my cube to update me on a couple of the things we talked about. The gal that is feeling left out heard our conversation and began to ask questions. She added that she was feeling out of the loop and felt like she did not know anything that was going on. I only knew what I knew because I made an effort to sit down and talk to my boss, not because she sought me out to share with me. Now this gal is quizzing me about stuff going on and I don�t want to play that. If there was stuff she needs to know, she should go to the people in the know, not me. I only know stuff because I sit down with people and ask them about things. I am not going to share that stuff with others because I do not feel it is my responsibility, nor would it really be right. She really needs to develop her own rapport with others if she wants to be knowledgeable.

Mom and Dad�s 40th Anniversary party is coming together. The invites are out, the announcements for the newspaper and church bulletin are done and submitted, the space is �rented�, the caterer has been contacted, the cake has been ordered, and the help has been gathered. Overall, I think we are doing well. Only 3 more weeks to go, roughly.

5:50 p.m. - Monday, Aug. 01, 2005
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink