sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hotdish

I made a yummy hotdish last night from stuff we had on hand (duh�the exact definition of hotdish). I browned some hamburger, and boiled some skinny egg noodles. Then in a large Pyrex dish, I mixed two cans of cream of mushroom soup, a packet of onion soup mix, a cup of sour cream and � cup of red cooking sherry. Once the meat and noodles were done, I added them to the soup mixture, mixed it all up and heated it in a 400-degree oven for 20 minutes. Yum! I call it hamburger stroganoff hotdish. Bob really liked it, which made my night because he can be a little weird about food sometimes. I just make up something as I go and figure if it is good, we will eat it, if it is not, out it goes. Bob will try anything once and if he does not like something, he is sure to tell me so I do not spend the next 50 years of our married life making something I think he likes when he does not. If he does not like something, I tend to not make it again even if I like it. For example, I really like zucchini saut�ed in butter, simmered with a can of Italian flavored diced tomatoes until reduced. Bob did not like it so I have not made it again even though I really like it. Since my surgery, I do not make much of anything the two us do not like because if I am supposed to eat it without Bob�s help, it will end up in the trash after a couple of days. Anyway, the hotdish? So good! Try it and let me know what you think.

Bob and I ended up going back to the Mall of America for the end of the telethon on Monday afternoon. We got there about three and soon after, Bob sent me to the food court to get him something to eat. When I got back with his burger, fries and Coke, he was sitting with the volunteer fire fighters, answering phones again. He is awesome! Did I tell you that I saw Bob�s sister on TV first thing Monday morning? I had just woken up and had stumbled out to the living room to check out the telethon total when they introduced a segment on the Stride and Ride we did in June. All of a sudden, my beautiful sister in law�s face filled my screen and she spoke of how her family had always collected money for the MDA telethon when they were little, never suspecting their very own brother had the disease all along. It was awesome! Unfortunately, it happened too fast for me to tape it. I am bummed that I missed it, but happy I got to see it. I called her right away to tell her. She missed it, but was glad I told her about it.

Bob is going to a men�s conference here on Saturday. He is excited. He has never been to one and has heard good things about them. He is going with one of his better friends and the two of them together may be the biggest troublemakers this side of the Mississippi, but at least they will have fun. I am glad he is going. I think it will be good for him. It is an all day thing and I will miss him, but I think the benefits to him going outweigh the time we will miss hanging out together. Plus, it will give me some uninterrupted time to do homework and pack up our apartment. This can only be a good thing for him and for us as a couple.

I took over a hundred photos at the telethon. If you have the time and inclination, here is the link:
MDA Telethon Photos
Enjoy.

11:09 a.m. - Thursday, Sept. 08, 2005
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink