sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It Is Finally Friday

My husband showed me, once again, why I made the best decision of my life when I married him. I received a large arrangement of yellow roses at work yesterday. They are beautiful! The rascal had been saving and budgeting for them for weeks and I have to say, yay! He also gave me the most perfect card. It was as if he wrote it himself. What a sweetie.

I came home from work, we shared dinner, fed each other cake as we remembered our wedding and reception, then hit the hay early. It was a wonderful day that could have only been made better had we both been home together all day long.

Yeah, the spreadsheet still haunts me. See, I don't usually do numbers either. This was something they threw at me last minute in order to help the gal who usually does it. They probably won't throw it at me again.

I've been wanting to talk about this for WEEKS and kept forgetting. Why is it that advertisers and retailers think that the day after school starts is the best time to start advertising Christmas items? I received my first Christmas catalog the day after school started. I have seen 2 Christmas commercials on TV this week and Target has started displaying their Christmas merchandise. Halloween is a month away and we are already looking to Christmas? What happened to waiting until the day after Halloween? Are there a proliferation of people out there demanding early Christmas items? Who buys this stuff in September? Sheesh. I can't even think about Christmas until after Thanksgiving myself.

My local Carribou coffee shop changes employees faster than Target puts out the Christmas fare. I no longer recognize anyone working there. They no longer see me and automatically begin preparing my drink because they don't know me or my drink. This is very disconcerting. Not only are the regular employees changing, but the managers too. In the last year there have been no less than 4 managers. Don't know where they go or why. I just wish they would stay long enough to learn my drink again. Which, by the way has changed to a decafe campfire mocha without whip. Mmmmmmm.

Whose bright idea was it to program Veronica Mars at the same day and time as Lost? These are two of my favorite shows and they are now on at the same day and same time. This is what VCRs and DVRs were made for, but when I want to go to bed early, I can only tape one show! Also, I am loving Grey's Anatomy again. I really missed that show and am glad it's back.

I am off to work. I get to get off early today. Whoot! Tomorrow? Move-a-rama! Can. Not. Wait.

5:57 a.m. - Friday, Sept. 30, 2005
3 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink