sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Things That Are Kicking My Butt

So my subscription to this place (Diaryland) expires in less than a month and I still haven't decided what I want to do. I could move to Yahoo 360 or Blogger or Live Journal or just about a dozen other places for free and post photos at Flickr or photobucket or google's photo thing that I can't remember right now...for free as well. It is safe here and familiar and comfortable. But maybe it's time for something new. I am still deciding.

Oh, here is something important I've been mulling over lately. Be awed. I can no longer watch Joey. Not Joey a person, but Joey the TV show. Want to know why? Because he never mentions his friends Chandler, Monica, Ross, Rachel, or Phoebe. I know the show Friends is off the air, but I can't suspend the disbelief that someone who was such good friends with these 5 people would just move away and never speak to or of them again. I just don't buy it. I don't expect to see "the Friends" on Joey's show, but can't they mention them once in a while or show Joey talking on the phone, catching up on the twins or Emma and the rest of the gang? I mean if one of my best friends moved to Hollywood and became a movie star, I'd want them to keep in touch with me if nothing more, than to make sure they are staying grounded. Anyway, this is the vastly important thing that I've been mulling over the past few days. Aren't you glad I let you in on that?

Another TV related item I must get out. Nooooooooooooooooo!!!! I thought it died a much needed and long overdue death. But apparently someone at ABC thought it would be good to air yet one more episode of The Bachelor. This time in Paris. As if that makes a difference. I won't be watching it. Maybe if enough people DON'T watch it, they will finally put it and us out of our misery.

So on to non-TV related items.

This weekend was awesome because I didn't do much of anything. Saturday I slept in and then watched TV (oops). I ran some errands and then made Bob some dinner. I spent most of the day on the couch like a blob and it was wonderful. Today I slept in again. I put a pork roast in the crock pot and then went to an extended family function. My cousin finished fireman training school and has been hired on at a firehouse in Minneapolis. His parents had a party to celebrate. It was nice to be with family, celebrating something so wonderful. He's worked realy hard to get to this point and we are all so proud of him. Way to go Mark!

Once I got home, I did my homework and then finished making dinner. The pork roast had a lovely cranberry, mustard, brown sugar glaze. The rest of the meal consisted of potatoes I sliced and tossed with olive oil, onions, garlic, thyme, parsley, and season salt. Then I baked the slices for 25 minutes in a hot oven. I also made some french cut green beans. It was a delisious meal and...good news...we have leftovers! Unfortunately, it was the last Simply To The Table meal from our freezer. But we decided to keep patronizing STTT, so we will have 9 more yummy meals next month, the month after, and the month after that for sure.

So, we didn't go to church today. I don't want to go to church. I've been thinking about it. I don't feel like we, or I, fit in there anymore. I've been thinking about it. Growing up, we went to church every Sunday (Well, from about middle school on anyway). Once I got out on my own, I went to church every Sunday. To be honest, it wasn't because I needed Christian education. It was to meet friends and find a husband. I went every week. I never met the husband there, but I did meet lots and lots of friends. So then it became the place that me and all my friends met for fellowship and often for fun afterwards. I moved around a lot and never stopped going to church or meeting friends.

Then I met Bob. He started coming to my church. He began making his own friends and making his own way at church. It was awesome. We served together, we joined a care group, we made a place for ourselves. Then we got the diagnosis. And things changed. We felt weird. We were angry with God. We didn't want to serve him all the time. Bob didn't always feel so good. I didn't like going to church by myself because people always asked why Bob wasn't there.

Things at church changed too. People left, leaders left, things shifted, our named changed, it feels different. New couples come in, women keep having babies, and we don't seem to fit in. Of course, maybe we would if we went more often. Ha!

Anyway, I don't know what has to change, but right now, we don't feel compelled or motivated to go to church and until something changes that, we will sleep in on Sunday it looks like.

Oh, and also, no one has called to check in on us either. Eight years I've been going to this church and have missed 3 or 4 weeks in a row and not one person has called, written, or stopped by to check on us. Nice.

In other news, I will graduate from college with my BS (hee!) in Communicatations in just under a year. Well, actually, I will finish my last class in under a year. Graduation is December 2006. Woooooo! I keep this in mind because the class I'm in now is kicking my butt big time. It's called Communication Theory and Practices. Theory is a lot like math word problems. What if this, what if that then what? The good news is I got my grades from my last two classes. Both A's. My first A's at this school. So far I've earned three B's and two A's. Not bad, I guess. Once this theory class is over, I have a 2 week break. Can't. Wait.

Grey's Anatomy kicked butt tonight.

8:44 p.m. - Sunday, Nov. 20, 2005
4 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink