sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am Sick.

My mantra didn't work. I'm sick. I have a horrible cold that began with a tickle, a niggle, a little scratch and a sniffle. It turned into a headache, sore throat, and stuffy nose. Today I have an achey chest, alternating stuffy and runny nose and full ears. Blech. I can't maintain a regular body temp. I'm hot. I'm cold. I'm hot. I'm cold. I'm miserable. And I did not get any homework done at all today. I have a presentation due on Monday that I HAVE to complete tomorrow no matter how sick I am. Double blech.

Bob fell. Wednesday afternoon he rolled over to Aldis to get some of the things we needed for Thanksgiving. Once he got home, he was trying to open the door to our building when one of the grocery items fell. When he tried to pick it up, he accidentally pushed the joystick on his wheelchair causing it to move forward and it propelled him out of the chair. He fell forward and landed on his head on the sidewalk. Then he flipped over and landed on his back. His shoe flew off as well. His head was bleeding and it took him over 20 minutes to get back into the chair. He doesn't remember getting back into the apartment. Now he has a scrape, a goose egg and a bruise on his forehead and we have completed an application for a service dog. If we had had one to begin with, none of this would have happened. The dog would have retrieved the fallen item and helped hold the door open for him. The application is on its way to the service dog organization as I type. Thankfully, Bob called me at work after it happened on Wednesday. Once I got off the phone, my boss asked what happened and sent me home immediately. I had not asked to leave but she made me and I am thankful for that. I am also thankful that we don't live in Lonnsdale which is 55 miles away. If something worse had happened and I had to run home, it would take far too long to get there. As it is, it takes me 5-10 minutes. Anyway, we hope to have a service dog in the next year.

Thanksgiving was nice. Two of Bob's sisters and his mom and dad came by. Bob's oldest sister took care of everything. We held the gathering in the party room and it went really well. There is a full kitchen and a large party area and a TV for watching thanksgiving day football. The meal was good and the company lovely. Our neices and nephews are always fun to be with as are Bob's family. I did miss being with my family. My folks spent the holiday in Seattle and my brother's family hosted his wife's family in their new house. I hope to see them at Christmas.

Bob's eBay business is doing well. He is doing well enough that we really need to start keeping track of all his buys, sales, and profits for tax reporting. Also, it is his business that will be sending us to Florida in January. Everything except the rental car and fun money is paid for, but his eBay profits will be providing those things. Yippee. He is the bomb. If you are interested in buying coins, he is the man to see.

I can't believe it will be December next week. We got some snow on Friday and so winter is here. We are expecting to get rain tomorrow and then a wintery mix Monday with snow Tuesday through Thursday. The calendar says it's nearly December but in my head it is still August. I find the evidence to the contrary confusing, but every year seems to go by more quickly than the next.

8:20 p.m. - Saturday, Nov. 26, 2005
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink