sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's so cold my nostrils are frozen together.

Today is freaking cold! The high is supposed to be 1 degree. 1 degree! The overnight low? -10 degrees! Brr! But I�ve lived here most of my life and am used to such variances in temperatures, so I will endure and survive though I still get to complain a little because it�s in my nature. Hee.

Can I just ask what it is about weekends that make my hair look so good? And why can�t I get it to look the same way during the work week? I don�t do anything different and yet it looks horrible during the week and cute and sassy on Saturday and Sunday. Wish I knew why.

I made a yummy roast in the crock pot last night. I put some red cooking wine and a half a cup of water in the pot and then added the roast, onions, carrots and potatoes. It was so delicious. Even the leftovers today are yummy. I took the stock and mixed it with 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup, sliced carrots, potatoes and mushrooms and added the leftover turkey from last week�s feast, plus 5 cans of water. This will make a yummy, yummy soup! I also add garlic and celery salt and some herbs and spices to taste. I will add egg noodles about 15 minutes before I am ready to eat it, for a rich and hearty noodle soup. Mmmm�nothing like it on a bitterly cold day.

I started my 9-6 shift today. So far I like it. But I have to admit that today has been heaven due to the Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday. I have taken 7 calls since starting at 9 and they�ve all been easy. Mostly I�ve been catching up on my paperwork (and reading online journals�but don�t tell anyone. I couldn�t help it! I�m so bored!). That�s how it is around here though�sink or swim, boredom or complete mania. I like it.

This morning Maisey snuck into the bedroom and was terrorizing Daisy. We didn�t know it until Supe heard a growl/squeak/squawk coming from the vicinity of the bedroom. We walked in and found Maisey stalking Daisy under the bed. Poor Daisy�s inner sanctum was violated. She didn�t get over it until well after I left I was told. Every little noise making her jump, her eyes trained on the doorway. Poor scared baby. Maisey is so devious and mean to her. It�s hard to believe she�s the same sweet kitty who lays with Supe and lets him hold her paw. We will have to be more diligent at watching her whereabouts when we enter and leave the bedroom.

I found out more about that psych test they have to give me during my psych evaluation next month. Here is the lowdown: It is a standard industry test is called the MMPI (Minnesota Multiphase Personality Inventory. It was developed at the UofM in the 30's, and it has been updated since then. It contains 400+ multiple-choice and 400 questions/statements. Participants answer the questions by ranking their level of agreement. Examples of questions include "I am often tense at my job", "Sometimes I think so fast I cannot keep up", and "The things that run through my head are horrible". For the most part the test is extremely accurate in creating a personality profile. Whatever you do, DO NOT OVER THINK THE QUESTIONS! Be swift and honest with your answers. If you attempt to "trick" the test you it will stand out. I also found out that the psychologist I am seeing is not that great about getting the test results to the Dr. in a timely fashion. I may have to keep on her, or look for someone else altogether. I am going to keep an eye on the WLS forums/boards and see what more is said about her, if anything. I do know she was kind of hard to get a hold of in the beginning, but we managed to set my initial appointment time and the follow-up session via voicemail tag, so maybe it won�t be so bad.

If you happen to be more interested in who Mary Jo Copeland is and what she does for the poor and down trodden in Mpls, go here http://www.sharingandcaringhands.org. From there you can click around and find out more info on her ministries and The Gift of Mary. You can also click a link to donate if you are so inclined. Check it out. Mary Jo has been called The Mother Theresa of the Midwest.

Supe wrote me the most beautiful note for my lunch last week. Usually, he packs me a lunch during the week for me to bring to work. Last week, he included this note:

My Beloved Bride and Princess, Oh how I wish I had so much more to give. It seems to me you love and compassionate car is abundantly beyond anything I could have hoped for. You are strong and courageous, yet gentle, delicate and kind. Sometimes I don�t respond to your love the way I should. Forgive me for my poor responses and please know I would like to do better. You are God�s treasure. I am sorry I don�t treat you as such. I treasure you

and wish I could treat you like royalty, giving you all the things you deserve. When I married you, I was not aware of how much my love for you could grow. I am sorry I exasperate you and crowd you, but I can�t help the intense feelings of always wanting to be around you. You get home and tell me about your day and all the things of the office and I can�t wait to tell you about what God has told me, or about a phone call or something else. Then I unload on you and I look upon your face and realize I am rambling. I would give you everything or do anything I could to help make you happy or joyful (within the will of God). No other woman has ever touched my heart as you have. Because of you, I know what love is. I love you!!! Supe.

Isn�t that beautiful? Muscles or not, Supe is the most wonderful man I have ever known. Yeah, last week it seemed that every time I got home I faced his talking gauntlet. Even this weekend, we were watching a movie and I was more into it than he was and he kept talking, talking, talking. People who really know me are probably freaking out that there is someone on earth that talks more than I do. But Supe is that person. And sometimes he will even make up stuff to talk about. Most of the time I can handle it. But last week was so busy and stressful at work, all I wanted to do was get home and veg and relax. Then he would just talk, talk, talk. I realized this weekend that I would rather have him and his talking than not have him, so I sucked it up, turned off the TV and turned my attention to my darling husband. He rocks!

1:50 p.m. - Monday, Jan. 19, 2004
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink