sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Home Again...Naturally

So I'm home again today. This cold is kicking my tukus. I didn't sleep well last night, felt like I had a fever, even thought the thermometer denied such a thing, and coughed up several lungs and my spleen. I had no voice this morning, so when I called in sick, I am sure my boss thought some prank obscene phone caller was boared with the usual routine and called me in sick for variety. Anyway, I still feel crappy, but my inner guilty child has to have her way too, so I cleaned the apartment. I can't just stay home and rest and fil up on liquids and daytime TV...oh no! Someone (though I am short on guesses who) might think I am just being lazy. So I cleaned and took out the trash and picked up and folded the laundry and put it all away instead of leaving it on the dresser like I usually do when I am feeling fine. There! Take that! No one can say I'm lazy now. Well, they can say it, but they won't have proof! SO now I'm here updating instead of laying in bed resting with my baby kitty.

I heard from our van sales guy this afternoon and I'm not sure what to do now. It turns out their bank is not willing to finance a loan for $16,000 for such an old vehicle. Granted it is 12 years old, but it's in great shape and has low mileage. The guy said my credit looks great, except for the bankruptcy, but because we didn't include our vehicles on that, it's actually good and shows we are making good on our auto loans. He said we either have to go to our local bank and get a loan (which we tried and they denied us!) or we need to come up with half the money to put down on the van and they will finance us in-house. Or...we could go for a new van, but then our monthly cost goes up exponentially. So, it's like they said yes, but it's still no. SUpe wants to wait...but I can't see it. He really needs this to get around. Right now we are putting his manual wheelchair in the back of his pick-up and hoping there will be people at his destination who can help him take it out, wheel him around and help him put it back in. It works OK most of the time, but it's almost impossible for him to do it himself if there is no one else around to help. I don't think waiting is going to be an option much longer. If we could just pay off my car, then we would be in a better position to negotiate. It's just at that stage where we owe more than we can get for it...especially with the 2 nice dents I've managed to put on it in the 3 years I've had it. Never owned a brand new car before but never dinged up my used cars either. I had this car 3 weeks and managed to dent it but good one icy winter's day. I was backing out of a parking space and because I was still getting used to the manual thing, I was going a bit too fast. I slammed on the brakes and slid backwards into a large pick-up truck. Nice big dent in my trunk...nothing on the truck. I didn't feel it was worth paying the deductable to get it fixed, so the dent stayed.

The second dent is mostly a scrape along the wheel well of my passanger side. They have large concrete pillars in our underground parking ramp and I managed to cut one too close.

Anyway, that's where we are at with the van. More on the sage that has become our search for mobility for Supe as it becomes available.

12:38 p.m. - Wednesday, Feb. 18, 2004
3 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink