sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm Ready

My last entry left Sandy laughing about my concern about marijuana being a gateway drug. What can I say? I'm a child of the 80's and probably no one took Nancy Reagan more seriously than I did. I was the "Just Say No" poster child. It's a good thing I am so strong willed, or I might have given in, but I never did. Oh I took a drink every now and then, but more often than not, I was the designated driver. Just a good little suburban girl saying no to drugs. That's me. Hee.

I have not done much this weekend and really, that's the way I like it. I did clean and file all the papers that had been piling up. It was one large stack, threatening to topple on top of our cats if not taken care of. So, now...it's all taken care of.

So, a week from tomorrow is the big day. I am hoping the weight is off for the surgery. When it all started, time seemed to just drag and drag. Each hoop I jumped through seemed to just take eons of time in order to get through the next one. And now, it's here. Supe is worried. I'm not. I'm ready. We went shopping yesterday and bought liquids and some purees for when I am home. Today I am going to GNC to get some protein mix. I have been getting things in order so that when I am at the hospital, he will be able to eat and have clean clothes, and whatnot. Also, next weekend will be a cleaning marathon as I get the apartment ready for 3 to 4 weeks of no cleaning, not to mention company that will be visiting. My folks will be here and there may be people coming over to help with Supe's meals and such. The bedding will all be washed, the cat hair removed from every surface, as much as possible, and even dusting (My most loathed chore) will be done. I am so ready. One more week of work. One more week of regular food. One more week of the largest sizes I have ever worn and then it will all be new and different and strange...and wonderful. I am ready. Friends will come over Saturday night to pray with me and just generally encourage me. It's a girls' night out...in at my place. Friday night Supe is taking me to my favorite restaurant for one last big meal. I have noticed that with my preparation and practive in preparing for the lifestyle after this surgery, I am not able to eat as much as I could several weeks ago. Which is good. I am going to try a mostly liquid diet this nest week in order to purge toxins and get ready for the big day. I am ready. My pre-op physical is Tuesday. I am ready.

Last night in the grocery store I was looking over the selection of baby foods in hopes I could find something palatable for my puree stage. As I was standing there, a super mom came up and started schooling me in the best tasting and most nutritious of the foods. Then she asked me how old my little one is. I wanted to melt into the floor. I could have told her to mind her own business, but instead, I told her the truth. I was having surgery next week and the food was for me for after since I could only eat liquids and purees. She was nice and began to recommend the foods she actually liked. Then she wished me well, let me admire her baby and went on her way. Interesting the people you meet at the grocery store. I didn't buy any though. I couldn't get my nerve up for it.

Today is beautiful here. Sunny, 68, and just humid enough to give a kissable hint of summer. I am going to enjoy a walk outside and may even swipe some lilacs from the bushes that line the road. We'll see.

I'm ready.

12:32 p.m. - Sunday, May. 16, 2004
4 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink