sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

No More Tight Pants

Today I went to the office to say goodbye to a co-worker who gave her 2 week notice after I left for my leave. It was nice to be there for a bit. I brought the yummy salsa I posted the recipe for yesterday and it was a BIG HIT!

It was good to see everyone and they all seemed glad to see me too. The only bad thing is that my boss and a couple of other gals told me they will be watching to make sure I am not eating stuff I shouldn't. I told them they don't need to be my motivation...that was what the surgery was for, but I don't think they really understood. So, great...I'm going to have food police on my back at work now. Yay. Feel the love people. That's going to make work so much more fun.

For some reason today my tummy has been kind of queasy. Liquids are going down OK, but I just feel...not 100% for some reason. Also, when will my tongue finally stop feeling like it's wearing a wool coat? I am constantly sticking out my tongue to pick hair off of it only find no hair whatsoever.

The good news today is I wore a pair of pants that used to be tight on me, but now is quite loose. The tight pants are loose!

A weird thing happened today. We got a notice from the apartment manager that they haven't received our rent yet and when did we intend to pay it. We have lived here almost 2 years and have NEVER even been late, let alone not paid. Supe called the office but got the voice mail. Later, the super came to fix our stuck screen door and said it must be a mistake because everyone in the office knows us to be good renters. So, we will hopefully find out tomorrow or Monday if it was a mistake or not. Supe checked with our bank and our rent check was cashed, so it's got to be a mistake.

I got home from visiting work and promptly fell asleep on the couch. As much as I like to think so, I am still not operating on full power. I was watching Food Network and getting good info on grilling. I have one question though, why do cooking shows on TV have to make it so hard to do what they do? Out of the 4 shows I ended up watching, only one used regular food, utencils and impliments. If you are going to have a show that shows how to cook stuff, why not use what regular people use? One show was trying to teach the proper way to grill lamb. The cook used a humongous charcoal grill with chunk charcoal, a chimney starter, a probe thermometer, a digital timer, and several other things no one I know uses. I just want to know how to grill something without burning it on my GAS grill.

Oh and surprise...it rained today, again. 26 or 27 days out of the last 30. *************************************** A Year Ago Today: June 11, 2003, South Africa in Turmoil

SB and I went to OCB in Maplewood to meet his brothers and sisters to discuss their folks' 25th wedding anniversary party. It was good. We didn't expect to see his older brother there as he lives in Southeastern WI...but there he was!

Actually, my brother in law, is a missionary to South Africa. He has been in the states for the past year and a half on furlow but recently went back to South Africa to get some things in order.

He came back heavy hearted and troubled. As you may (or may not) know AIDS has completely ravaged South Africa. The country is overwhelemed by the loss of life and the orphans left behind. Don said that children are living on the streets and are living a sort of Lord of the Flies exhistance. It's survival of the fittest as the older children take care of the young ones left behind. Many of these children were born with HIV and AIDS and have no way to care for themselves.

As we talked about this, BIL said that in the next 10 to 20 years South Africa will be our next Middle East. Terrorism will reign because so many children are growing up on the streets as orpahns. Children without parents, boundaries, nurturing, guidance. Who will lead this country into the future?

My heart was breaking. My husband and I are longing to adopt and are saving for a house before we start the adoption process. But the thought of all these children left on the streets to fend for themselves makes my heart break!

BIL's church is bringing some children in to live in people's homes and will raise money for their care. There are MILLIONS of these children. The need is great...but we have all seen examples of how one person can make a difference. I am one person and I want to make a difference, but I am not sure how. I sent an email to a bunch of church and media people today...but South Africa is so far away and the problems seem so removed...I don't know if anyone will catch what I am talking about.

I am not sure what to do. There are MILLIONS of orphans. I am one woman and cannot be a mother to them all. Maybe some of you have an idea. I just wanted to get the problem out there. My husband and I hope to be able to give BIL some money to help with the care of the children that are coming to stay with the people in his church.

Can we help these kids? Maybe we can take a trip to South Africa and bring clothing, dolls, toys to these kids. Maybe we can work with the government to try and build orphanages to at least house and school these kids and try to keep them safe. Maybe we can work with BIL and raise some money to help the cause. But I don't want to throw money at this to ease our collective consciences. I just can't make it more clear that there is a problem and we are poised at the presipice...if we don't do anything, we closing the door on the future of South Africa and these kids. Somehow there has to be something we can do to help.

Thanks for reading.

7:26 p.m. - Friday, Jun. 11, 2004
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink