sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quiet Day At Home

Today has been sunny, but is relatively cool. Only 65 right now by my thermometer.

I spent the morning cleaning our apartment and rearranging our kitchen implements. Then I tried valiently to save my flowering plants. One is dead. The others are hanging on. 3 of them are out in the sun right now. I have to keep rotating them as the sun moves through the sky. But I hope to keep them alive by hook or by crook.

Speaking to those of you who left a comment yesterday about my friend and her failing marriage, you will be happy to know she is just fine. She got out of their house and out of that marriage. She left broken hearted and bereft (sp?) but whole and healthy.

It turns out her husband had been having an affair with a woman he had fathered a son with 18 years before. The son contacted him and through that, he re-hooked up with his son's mom. She left her husband, he left my friend and they are planning on marrying at some point in the future. The divorce is final this month, I think. Thank you for your kind wishes towards my friend. I got a card from her today and she is healing and doing well.

not much else is going on here today. Just a quiet day at home.

***************************************

A Year Ago Today: June 18, 2003

If you have a DQ Grill and Chill in your neck of the woods, I highly suggest you go there. These are newer, upscale Dairy Queens. They are competing with Culvers and look like a LeeAnn Chin or a Boston Markget type of place. The food is great, the prices OK and the customer service fabulous. And I'm not saying this because I got a free breakfast this morning! Oh no!

Yesterday I thought I would try the new Grill in Chill in the neighborhood where I work. I had heard they offer breakfasts and I had heard right. I ordered a country platter breakfast and a cinnamon roll. I paid perfect attention to the online order screen because I have had so many experiences where they get the order wrong. I got all my drinks and food in order, paid and drove to work to have my yummy breakfast. Low and behold, they charged me for the cinnamon roll but I did not have a cinnamon roll in my bag. So I called the Grill and Chill and talked to Warren, the manager. He told me to come in the next morning and he would make it right.

I came in this morning and he gave me a full breakfast, plus coffee and orange juice on the house! I paid for a cinnamon roll and got a full breakfast instead. Way to go Warren! The ultimate hashbrowns rock the house. Try them out.

I talked to my friend last night (see yesterday's entry) and she told me her husband is out of town for 2 weeks. He went on a vacation they had planned to take together. He drove to see his mother in New Mexico. They had planned on going together, but he packed up and took off without his wife. What a jerk. It just makes me so mad...the way he is treating her. He thinks their marriage is a mistake so he thinks if he wipes out any physical trace of it, it will set him free. She's heard him praying to God to send him a wife and to bless him. HELLO! She's his wife and a really good woman at that. This guy is off his nut. Just because his prayer didn't get answered in the exact way he expected or wanted, he thinks It's all wrong. That's right, throw the baby out with the bathwater. I really have a hard time loving that neighbor, I will tell you that. I am going to have coffee with my friend on Saturday. I just wish I could do something to help her. This is NOT what she hoped and wished for when she thought of getting married. Their one year anniversary is on the 29th of this month and this is what their relationship has become. He wants her to leave him alone...to be his roommate. He doesn't want a wife. He wants a household servant/maid that he can have sex with. Arrrhhhggg!

I need a new dress. The 2 spring dresses I wear are just getting sooo run down. I need to ask Bob if I can use the credit card to get a new dress. We have a wedding coming up in August and it would be nice to have something new to wear. I hate our budget sometimes. But really, we don't lack anything and I can't really complain. But sometimes I wish we had money to burn and we could just buy whatever we wanted when we wanted. I don't feel this way all the time. Just every once in a while. For the most part we are very fortunate and generally lack for nothing. Compared to so many people in the world, we are quite wealthy.

Thanks for reading.

4:02 p.m. - Friday, Jun. 18, 2004
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink