sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gear Up For the Walk and Explaining My Politics

In the interest of equal time, here is a photo of Bush and Cheney that reveals a certain chumminess as well.

I rarely talk politics here. Mostly because I loathe controversy and confrontations and the childish comments wars that so often errupt in blogs and diaries where politics are the order of the day.

If you've been reading me for a while at all, you most likely know I am fairly conservative in my beliefs. As far as politics go, I tend to lean more libertarian. I believe in small government. The less, the better as far as I'm concerned. In my perfect world, the government would be more administrative in nature...taking care of roads, immigration, taxes, etc. The social concerns would be cared for by communities, churches, and families. OR, National government would be the administrative force while local (city and state) would care for the local social issues. That's my perfect world. I know I have explained it somewhat simplistically, but if you want a debate, I'm probably not the person to start with. Just know that I respect your views and you as a person and I hope you can do the same for me.

Today has dawned sunny and not so warm...as of yet. It's a beautiful 76. They said to expect highs close to 90 with humidity to boot. So far, so good. We leave for the walk in a couple of hours and are packing lots and lots of water.

Maybe setting a goal of $1000 wasn't so crazy for the 2 of us. As of right now, we raised $630...just us. The guide said to form a team of 10 and have a goal for each member to raise $100 so the team raises $1000. We got so close. I am just so excited. I will be taking photos and hope to post some here tomorrow, so look for them. I am wearing the special socks my parents got me. They are supposed to help stop blisters from occuring. I hope they work because my feet are the favorite home of blisters. Always have been. I used to spend more time in the nurse's station at camp than on the trails after the first day, due to blisters. And my summer of detassling corn was a lesson in pushing through the pain. Hopefully, this will be a different sort of day.

So, here's to today. Hope you all have a beautiful, wonderful Saturday.

******************************* A Year Ago Today: 10:14 a.m. July 10, 2003 030710_62.html More about Boys and Reading a Good Book Had a good day yesterday. Not much is new or different from the day before though. Had a nice dinner with my husband and ended up watching Cupid. It was kind of interesting to watch in a car accident kind of way. Lisa�s friend Laura is soooo spot on mean. Not that what she is saying isn�t true, but sheesh! These are human beings. I supposed we are just not used to women judging men the way we feel men judge us. But I don�t know that men judge women to their faces in front of all America. Somehow, I do not think the show would go over quite as well if it were 3 men picking a woman for their friend. There were definitely some odd men there though. Like the guy who admitted not having a date since 1983. Or the guy with the pimp suit and weird poem. Or the guy who came back 2ce just to give HER another chance. Okaaaay. I do like the guys she did pick though.

I�m reading another good book. It�s called The Marrying Game by Kate Saunders. It�s kind of a modern Little Women/Pride and Prejudice book. It�s written by a woman from England and takes place in England. It�s about 4 young women whose doting and eclectic father commits suicide leaving them in great debt and despair. The 2 older girls decide to save the family by marrying money. It�s a great read. Not great literature, but fun to read.

This morning on Lukaworld, she told her love story. It is so beautiful. It�s her story to tell, but she is wondering if it�s possible to fall in love without having seen the person you have fallen in love with. I think so. She has fallen in love with his heart, spirit and soul. The body is just the packaging. What an amazing story.

***************************************

10:14 a.m. July 10, 2003 030710_62.html More about Boys and Reading a Good Book Had a good day yesterday. Not much is new or different from the day before though. Had a nice dinner with my husband and ended up watching Cupid. It was kind of interesting to watch in a car accident kind of way. Lisa�s friend Laura is soooo spot on mean. Not that what she is saying isn�t true, but sheesh! These are human beings. I supposed we are just not used to women judging men the way we feel men judge us. But I don�t know that men judge women to their faces in front of all America. Somehow, I do not think the show would go over quite as well if it were 3 men picking a woman for their friend. There were definitely some odd men there though. Like the guy who admitted not having a date since 1983. Or the guy with the pimp suit and weird poem. Or the guy who came back 2ce just to give HER another chance. Okaaaay. I do like the guys she did pick though.

I�m reading another good book. It�s called The Marrying Game by Kate Saunders. It�s kind of a modern Little Women/Pride and Prejudice book. It�s written by a woman from England and takes place in England. It�s about 4 young women whose doting and eclectic father commits suicide leaving them in great debt and despair. The 2 older girls decide to save the family by marrying money. It�s a great read. Not great literature, but fun to read.

This morning on Lukaworld, she told her love story. It is so beautiful. It�s her story to tell, but she is wondering if it�s possible to fall in love without having seen the person you have fallen in love with. I think so. She has fallen in love with his heart, spirit and soul. The body is just the packaging. What an amazing story.

***************************************

A Year Ago Today.

OK...Being a boy crazy girl growing up made me do some totally stupid and embarrassing things. Like when I gave this guy in our neighborhood an "Anonymous" letter telling him to go out with me. Uh...yeah! Like he bought that one. I told him a bunch of kids drove (I was maybe 13 at the time) up in a green convertible, handed me this note and told me to give it to him. Kids I don�t know who wrote a note about me and another boy they didn�t know. Kids who drove. Okkkkaaaaayyyy! Too embarrassing. I can�t believe I even told you about it, it�s so embarrassing. Or the time I told my friends that this boy had given me a ring. It was actually costume jewelry from my mother�s jewelry box. Yeah.

Anyway, in high school I had several short term crushes between dating my boyfriend Andy. Usually I crushed on older, waaaayyyyy out of league boys. Like Rick, a Senior who eventually committed suicide. Or Kurt Cliff, Tim, and Allen.

I started to be more discriminating in the boys I was fond of. I started to be attracted to their insides, their beliefs, and their minds. I started to see their faith as one of their most attractive qualities. Dave our church�s youth leader, was oh so attractive to me. Not just because of his looks, but because he was funny and had an amazing faith in the things of God. But he was 5 years older than me and was never really in my league. For Heaven�s sake he was a triathelete! I was/am a couch potato, reader, and non-runner.

In college, my crushes maximized 100 fold. Too many men. So many good men. So much time wasted.

11:20 a.m. - Saturday, Jul. 10, 2004
3 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink