sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Our Day at the Stride and Ride

Only 19 more days and we have to let our apartment manager know if we plan to stay her another year or not. Actually, we could say we want a month to month or 6 month lease too. The problem is, we don't know if we want to stay. What we would REALLY like to do is get a condo or town home or twin home close by. There was a single level twin home for sale right across the street from our church. I called on it and guess how much it cost? $428,000! For a single level attached home. We cannot afford that. Then, we also wonder, if we don't buy a place, should we move to an apartment that features a washer and dryer in the apartment? That would be my ideal if we didn't buy right now. But if we upgrade in rent, as we are supposing, why not just buy? Oh, what a dilema.

Today is the hot, humid and stormy day they had been saying yesterday would be. But thankfully yesterday was beautiful, if a bit warm. Bob and I went to church this morning looking like lobsters. Both of our faces are bright, florescent pink due to our lack of sun screen. Bob thinks I look cute like this, but I am very self conscious.

************************************** A Year Ago Today: July 10, 2003 I Want to Ride the Range

Oh God! Oh please, oh please let me get that new job at big bank co! I know I could be jumping right from the frying pan and into the fire...but I soooooo need a change

SM just came into my office complaining that she could NEVER (OK maybe 3 times in the past 2 days.) get a hold of me by phone anymore. She called me once yesterday when I was in the restroom. Again when I was delivering the mail and then today during lunch. She said they have been getting TONS of complaints from policyholders that they can never get a person when they call here. She said one of our agents almost lost a policyholder over it.

OK. First of all, for SM, everything is an emergency and if she thinks she has to talk to me, it won�t wait until she gets to the office, even if she�s in the parking lot of our office building. Second of all, the agent in question is notorious for not returning her policyholders� phone calls, so I doubt that their threat to leave was because they couldn�t reach anyone at the office. It was probably more like they weren�t receiving a response from her. Third of all, we have a very nice answering system with voicemail. All one would have to do is to leave a message and either I or their agent will call them back as soon as we get back to the phone.

So SM just goes on and on about how no one can ever get a hold of us and I have to do something about that. Well, I�m not about the answer the phones while I�m on lunch or stop going to the bathroom. The only alternative as I see it is to set the phones to ring at every extension rather than just mine. Right now, my phone is the only one that rings with incoming calls. The Agents� phones only ring when a call is transferred to them or if I�m paging them.

Now this is contrary to the other BIG RULE SM and CM laid down when I first got hired and most months hence. That rule is that no one but them or me should ever be answering the phone for any reason. They do not want the agents answering the phones.

So, if I set all the phones to ring and I happen to be in the bathroom, what happens? An agent answers it. This goes against BIG RULE number 1!

Sorry for the rant. I just had to vent. I realize that a new job is not necessarily an antidote to job frustrations, but the married couple/boss dynamic is so frustrating at times and so very, very unprofessional. Please, Big Bank Co, please call me soon! *************************************** July 11, 2004Cabiny Goodness and the Friday Five

I love my husband. He�s just the best man I�ve ever known. Last night as I�m getting ready for bed, he passes by me, stops, turns me towards him and says, "You are sooooo beautiful." *melt* He always manages to say that when I feel the least attractive. But he means it. What a man!

I emailed the woman who interviewed me for the job at BBC. I reintroduced myself, thanked her for meeting with me, and asked if she had indeed received my application. She emailed me back, thanked me for promptly returning the application, told me she had been out of the office, had one more interview and should be making a decision sometime next week. Yay!

We�re going to Bob�s sister�s cabin this weekend and I can�t wait! Right after work we head up there. We get to sleep in, go fishing, play games and have a generally good time of fun, fishing and fellowship with his brother in law and sister. Plus we will give Lyndsey and Lori our apartment to themselves for the whole weekend. Should be fun for all. I love the cabin. Their lake is stocked with several different types of fish and we always catch something. They have loons on their lake. AND they have palliated woodpeckers. These are LARGE woodpeckers that look like Woody Woodpecker. It�s fun to watch them, though they do a lot of damage to the trees with their big beaks. So, cabiny goodness this weekend!

It�s time now for THE FRIDAY FIVE!

1. Do you remember your first best friend? Who was it?

Yes I do. Her name was Julie B. She and I were in the same nursery school. We went to Indian Princesses together. We were in the same 1st grade.

2. Are you still in touch with this person?

Unfortunately, no. My family moved towards the end of my 1st grade year and we lost touch.

3. Do you have a current close friend?

Yes, thankfully I have several.

4. How did you become friends with this person/people?

Through high school, college and the single�s ministry at Church in Madison.

5. Is there a friend from your past that you wish you were still in contact with? Why?

Yes, Julie B. from 1st grade. I have thought about her over the years and wondered what she was doing...how she was...what she�s been through...if we have anything in common at all.

Thanks for reading

2:03 p.m. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2004
6 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink