sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Beautiful Days

Bob and I had a great day yesterday. First, was church. It was an awesome service. We had alter team duty, so after the service, we had to stand in the front to wait for people who needed prayer. After that was social time and I got to hold precious babies again.

As we walked out of church, we were greeted by a beautiful day. As we drove off, I said we should go for a drive. So we did. We actually drove to Bob's sister's house and dropped off some stuff we had been keeping for her. In return, she gave me some flower bulbs, pots and a build-it-yourself mini greenhouse from Ikea. Cute!

We had a nice visit with Bob's sister, her husband and daughter. We don't see them enough anymore. They are animal lovers as are we. They have 3 dogs and 2 cats and all of them are just plain crazy.

We drove off and went to have lunch and guess what? I slid into a booth without any problem! With room to spare! I can sit in a booth! Yay!

After lunch it was home to watch the Vikings trounce Dallas! Skoal Vikings! Also, I put together my mini greenhouse. I want to grow an herb garden. I am worried though that we don't get enough sunlight for an herb garden AND for the bulbs I will plant in pots on my patio. Can't hurt to try.

It was a beautiful day weather-wise, spending time with my husband-wise, seeing family-wise, and just being alive-wise.

Today, it's back to work...11-3. I'm nervous. It's been a while and I feel like I've missed a lot of stuff. Like I'm behind now. I don't want to stress myself out before I even get there. The doc said stress could have played a part in my getting sick...so will have to watch that. It's only 4 hours, so it should be just fine. --------------------------------------- About a Year Ago Today: September 12, 2003: It�s Friday I�m in love

I became the mother to a baby squirrel last night. This little guy is tiny! It was raining when I got home from work last night. It hasn't rained here for 7 weeks, but last night it was cool, damp and wet. I took the baby squirrel from his box and wrapped him in a warm, fluffy towel and laid him on my chest while I watched TV. He curled his little self up and slept. Sometimes he would grow restless and stretched and searched, but then he would calm and sigh and fall back to sleep. Sweet Baboo came home from visiting his nephew and helped me to feed the baby squirrel some water. We fashioned a plastic bag with some water and poked a pin in the corner of the bag. The little guy drank from that and seemed to be very thirsty. He would not eat any peanut butter, however. So, we are definitely going to need to take him to the wildlife rehabilitation center. SB offered to let me keep and raise him, but I'm too afraid that I would do something that would kill him. Or that Maisey would get to him and hurt him. But he�s so little and so sweet. And he nestles right into me and it�s just the sweetest thing. I feel like I am protecting him and saving him for something better. Yes, he�s only a squirrel, but I feel like God brought him to our doorstep and that I have a responsibility to do the best I can by him. I respect God's creation and feel I have been entrusted to do right by this little guy.

Sweet Baboo and I talked the other day about infidelity. I think it stemmed from our friends and their issues. Sweet Baboo plays an online video game quite often. While online, playing with people from all over the world, he often gets to talking to them...chatting about the events of life. More often than not, he ends up counseling them, sharing his heart with them, hurting with them and loving them. He has told me that women have come right out and asked himif he�s married and when he answers in the affirmative, they leave him alone. I was thinking about all of this the other day and I realised that we needed to talk. So I went to him and told him that if he ever felt a little spark of something, a temptation to flirt, to enjoy the flattery and attention from a woman, would he please tell me? He got so offended. I just told him that I can�t read his mind and if a woman online gets an idea about how to appeal to my sweet, honest, husband, he might feel like she understands him better than I do. I just wanted to have a fair playing field and be offered an opportunity to meet that need myself. I think he finally understood what I was saying, but we had a really good discussion about our vows, our love, and what all that means. Not to say we are perfect and aren't tempted, but that we handle those temptations differently because of our vows and love. It was a good discussion to have and I don�t fear the woman out there who can match my husband play for play in Yahtzee anymore:-)

Yesterday was so heavy. Not just because of what 9/11 means, but because it was so cloudy and stormy here all day. The threat of rain hung low and heavy all day, prompting more than one of us at work to say, "would it just rain already?" It finally did. Right at the start of rush hour, of course. It is so odd to work on the 13th floor of the building where I work. Planes fly by us all day in their landing and take off patterns. Circling, climbing, landing. It was very disconcerting yesterday. Every plane brought my eye to the window. Remembering. I got throught the day OK. It was just a heavy day.

This weekend...taking our baby squirrel to the wildlife rehabilitation center and maybe checking out the kittens at the Humane Society. We'll see.

Bonus Friday Five!

1. Is the name you have now the same name That�s on your birth certificate? If not, what�s changed?

The name I have now is not the name that�s on my birth certificate. What�s changed is that I got married and while I took my husband's last name, I made my maiden name into a second middle name. So, I am Amy real middle name... maiden name now second middle name..... last name.... now.

2. If you could change your name (first, middle and/or last), what would it be?

When I was little, I always wanted the name of Natalie. I loved that name for some reason. That, or Claire. Claire sounded so regal and beautiful to me.

For a while I worked in radio and thought that I would give myself a new radio name. I was going to be Beth Aames.

My brother was going to be named Stephanie, Jennifer or Laura if he had been a girl and I have always liked those names too.

Before we got married, my husband and I agreed that our first daughter would be named Grace Elizabeth.

3. Why were you named what you were? (Is there a story behind it? Who specifically was responsible for naming you?)

Mom and Dad liked the name Amy. Mom liked it from Little Women and from people she knew with the name. I like my name now. It fits.

4. Are there any names you really hate or love? What are they and why?

I don�t like the name Guy for a boy because it sounds so generic. Like naming your cat, Kitty. I also don�t like the names Emma or Audrey because of kids I knew growing up with those names. I can�t shake the connotations that go with the names.

5. Is the analysis of your name at kabalarians.com, triggur.org, astroexpert accurate? How or how isn�t it?

Here is my analysis: Your first name of Amy has made you a friendly, approachable, and generous person. Generally you are good-natured, though at times you can be blunt and sarcastic. As you are naturally talkative, you find it easy to meet and make friends with many people. This name inclines you to be sympathetic and generous to those in difficult or unfortunate circumstances. You can be firm, positive, and independent in your own ideas and in reaching your own decisions, yet when it comes to taking action or following things through to completion, you often need encouragement. You respond quickly to kind words or any appreciation shown you. There are artistic, creative abilities in this name that you could express through music or singing, or, in a practical way, through sewing or interior decorating. You enjoy freedom from monotony and are stimulated by unexpected opportunities for meeting people, entertaining, or pursuing activities of a carefree nature. In your work, you find it difficult to be neat and orderly. You rarely plan things ahead of time, or follow a routine. Emotion and feeling, the desire to be carefree, friendly, and happy, are the driving forces in your being, rather than shrewdness, ambition, and material success.

I think it is almostly mostly true except for the part about finding it difficult to be neat and orderly at work. That is where I am most near and orderly. I am a neat freak! So, It�s a was a good analysis except for that.

R.I.P.

Our baby squirrel died. After work, I went to Petco to get some kitten replacement formula and something to feed the baby with. I got home and was ready to feed him. Sweet Baboo said the kids had been by and had been playing with him but he shooed them away. When I pulled the warm blankets out of the carrier, he was lying on his side and didn�t move. I said, "I think he�s dead." SB didn�t believe me, but he took the blanket from me and held up the squirrel. He was dead. I cried. I was very sad and felt so lonely. I wish I had done more to take care of him. I wish I had taken him to the wildlife rehabilitation place earlier. He might be alive today. So, we lost our baby today.

9:56 a.m. - Monday, Sept. 13, 2004
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink