sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Taking a Break From Cleaning to Write This

I'm taking a break from deep cleaning the apartment.

One of Bob's old friends committed suicide this week. I had never met the guy, but Bob has talked about him before. I do know the guy's brother though. This is the 3rd suicide in the past month. Another of Bob's friends killed himself about a month ago. I hadn't met that guy either. And a young man who used to go to our church and was in the youth group I used to lead killed himself about 2 weeks ago. It's been a hard month. Bob feels horrible because on Wednesday, the day this last friend killed himself, he was on Bob's mind all day and Bob didn't call him or pray for him or anything...just thought of him and wondered why he was constantly on his mind. The funeral is today.

Someone in my comments asked how Bob is doing with his school and schedule and such. He's doing about the same as last year. He is only taking 1 class this semester and he's missed it 3 times already due to his health. He still doesn't have much of a schedule and part of that is because he doesn't sleep very well. So often times he ends up sleeping during the day and is awake most of the night. He had asked the owner of the gas station across the alley if he could work the overnights shift at another of their gas stations 3 nights a week. They told him no and that really disappointed him. He feels depressed, useless. He wants to be the one working and supporting our family. He hates that I have to do it. He says it makes him feel like less of a man. But really, if you met him, you wouldn't know he was depressed or feeling bad. He puts on a brave face and really tries to work through his fears and disappointments. He's amazing. And I like my job and where I work. They treat me well and everyone is great to work with. It's night and day from where I was working before. So, it's much the same as last year, but we keep seeing the faithful hand of God providing for us and caring for us.

Oh! I have a wonderful new recipe I am trying tonight for dinner. It's Crockpot fajitas. Cut up 2 to 4 boneless/skinless chicken breasts and lay them in your crockpot. Then add a bag of frozen pepper stirfry mix. (The one I added had red and yellow peppers and onions.) Then, add a packet of dry fajitas seasoning. (I got mine from a fajitas dinner kit) Then add a can of reduced fat chicken broth. I also added some fresh jalopenos and some fresh minced garlic. Cover and cook on low for 6 to 8 hours. Then serve with warm tortillas and your favorite garnishes. We use cheese, sour cream and tomato salsa. MMMMMM!

Back to cleaning. Have a good weekend.

12:36 p.m. - Saturday, Nov. 13, 2004
3 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink