sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Getting Back in the Groove...Or Trying To.

Umm, did I say that I would be getting better at this? Yeah, it's not going to happen.

We had a very nice weekend, though it went very quickly. Saturday was our friend's wedding. The wedding was at 10:30 in the morning. Weird time, but it ended up working out really well for our schedules. The wedding was over by 11:30 and by noon we were at the reception, munching on cheese and crackers, taking pictures, jabbering away and waiting for lunch. Not too long of a wait and we were eating a lovely buffet lunch of chicken, rice, ceasar salad, and cheesy veggies. We left around 2:30, got home around 3 and Bob was at work by 4. I spent the afternoon and evening doing homework and catching up on stuff I'd taped from TV that week.

Sunday, Bob worked in the morning and I went to church. As I've said before, church on Mother's day is always hard for me and in the past, I've just skipped it rather than endure. But Bob and I are on our church's alter team and our Sunday to be there is the 2nd Sunday of every month. Which is Mother's Day every year. It sucks.

This year was no exception. I did pretty well until they started honoring all the monthers. Single moms, moms with the most children, moms with the newest babies, grandmoms with the most grandkids, grandmoms with the newest grandkids, newest moms, newest grandmoms, etc. I thought, not just of me and my deep, deep desire for children, but of women who might be in our congregation and are trying everything in their might, bank account and being to get pregnant. I just started bawling. I cried the rest of the service.

At the end of the service, a friend of mine came up to me, put her arms around me, asked what was going on, and then just held me while I cried. And cried. And cried. Then another friend joined us and cried with us. She is going to be 42 this summer and is still single. She wants to be married and have children and sees the time fleeting. It was actually very freeing.

After that, my 42 year old friend and I went to lunch and ended up sitting in Appleebees until 3:30! It was a nice lunch with some very nice company.

I came home and found Bob home from work already. We chatted and hung out until I had to do more homework. Then we watched a storm come in and that was amazing. Though it wasn't long enough for our tastes.

Monday was work, of course. And then class. Can I just say...I LOVE school! My class is long, but the discussion we were having was so interesting and in-depth that come 10:15 we were still talking. And it continued into the parking lot. I didn't get home until almost 11!

Two people from my cohort quit. One quit because she thought it might be a lot of work. Ummmm, duh! A semester's worth of class in 4 weeks? Yeah, LOTS of work. Now there are only 10 people. And we are getting to know each other pretty well. We chat during breaks, we email outside of class and we created a forum on our school's website so we can keep in touch some more. It's awesome.

The only frustrating thing is that my prof now has 2 of my assignments and hasn't grade either one! We are supposed to be able to check our grade online once he's assigned it and I check it 2 times (or more) a day and still no grade. I only have 2 more days of this class and how will I know how I'm doing if I don't know how he graded my first 2 assignments? How will I know what and how to improve before the end of class? Just grade the assignments already!

Last night was the season finale of Veronica Mars and it was AMAZING! THE. BEST. SHOW. EVER! But now I have to wait a whole 3 months before the new season starts. Arg! If you haven't checked out the show, use the reruns to catch up.

Also, I taped Amazing Race but I know that my favorite team won. Still, I will watch and love. Go Joyce and Uchenna!

Today was my Friday. I don't have to work until Tuesday. We are going to visit my parents this weekend. We leave tomorrow after Bob's class. I can't wait. It's the weekend of their town's big festival. I haven't been there for several years and am anxious to see if and how things have changed. Also, I get to partake in the wonderful home grown goodness that is the Farmers Market! Yay! Can't wait. Not too mention the time spent with my family and the nephews! Whee!

After work today I went and got a new drivers license. The photo on my old one barely resembles me any more and I've been getting the stink eye when I use it as ID. The stinky part is, they mail the new license. I won't see it for 2 to 3 weeks. Blah. But I used my time wisely and stopped at the library that is in the same building as the DMV and picked up some books on tape for our trip. Score!

Tomorrow I am going to clean and pack and get ready to go. Don't know if I will update while I'm gone, though I will have my laptop with me due to the stack of homework I also have to bring with me. But I will have photos when I get back.

Have a fabulous weekend!

8:24 p.m. - Wednesday, May. 11, 2005
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink