sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hooligans in the Neighborhood

This is a little surreal. I just had my cat Maisey outside and all the little neighbor kids came running over to pet her. I like to supervise their attention of her, just in case. The kids petted her and talked sweet to her and she ate it up. After a while, though, she wanted to come inside. So I told the kids that she may have to go potty and needs to come inside to use the litter box. One little boy said, "She goes potty?" "Cats go potty?" (This after I had JUST witnessed 3 little boys peeing against the pool house.) I said, "Yes, all animals go potty just like you!" Then I brought Maisey in and they all ran off to play. As they were running, the youngest of the children started yelling for the elder NOT to touch his bike. When one of them touched his bike he began screaming "SHIT!" "SHIT!" This kid was all of 6 if that and he's running up the sidewalk of our courtyard screaming shit. Nice. Little hoolligans.

I love my husband. The other morning he woke up early and made a pot of decalf for me. The enticing aroma woke me from a sound sleep. I got up and began making my first cup of coffee while he watched me. I asked him why he was watching me to closely. He said, "Honey, we've been married almost 4 years and I still don't know how you drink your coffee. I am watching you so I know how you take it so I can actually make you a mug of coffee and bring it to you some morning." Is that not the sweetest?

Some people may wonder why even bother drinking decalf. I have to say that I really like it. Especially the good stuff. I can't drinnk caffiene anymore since my surgery. I gave up drinking coffee altogether and found that I missed it. I love everything about coffee (decalf or not). I love the smell. I love the sound of the coffee maker brewing. I love the first sip of a nice cup with some milk or cream. I love the taste and texture. I love the ritual of morning coffee. Drinking decalf brings it all back to me and I realized that I really missed it after I gave it up. Mmmmmmm, coffee!

So I'm off today and it is nice. Bob and I are hoping to have a picnic later. We may even take in a matinee. But so far the weather is beautiful! It's sunny and 65 right now. Hope it stays that way. I need some sun and warmth.

Have a happy memorial day!

9:34 a.m. - Monday, May. 30, 2005
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink