sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

MDA Telethon Starts Today

We have had thunderstomrs here off and on for the past 18 hours. It's been delicious. LOVE thunderstorms. It's been wonderful to nap, to write, to read, and sleeping last night was the best. Woke this morning to another one. We've had a ton of rain too, which was needed, but I don't envy the people that waited for THIS weekend to attend the state fair.

I was able to get the rest of our living room packed before I ran out of boxes and strapping tape. I spent the rest of the day going through stuff, setting out boxes of free stuff and posting it on Freecyle. I posted a couple of things on Craigslist...we have a scanner we don't need anymore and some other stuff. Then Bob and I went through our clothing to see what we can donate to the Katrina relief effort. We ended up each donating a garbage bag full of clothes and 2 more of blankets and towels. Today CNN said they could also use games and such for kids, so we will probably put a bag together of cards and games as well. Don't know yet where to take it all, but we will find someplace soon.

Today is the start of the MDA telethon. We are answering phones from 8-11pm AND Bob is presenting a check for $40,000 to MDA from the lock-up he volunteered with a couple of weeks ago. He will be on TV! He wrote a poem for the event and is so excited. (Though I think he is also somewhat nervous.) I can't wait. I think he will be amazing. We're going to tape it, of course.

I just realized that I am going to have to switch all our utilities for our move to 2 apartments over. And when I send out change of address cards, everything will be the same except our apartment number. Weird.

I am glad that the people in the Super Dome and Convention Center have finally been rescued and cleared out. I just heard that there are still others in their homes who are fighting leaving, thinking that if they have made it this far, they can hang on longer. I don't think they are aware of all that's transpired this past week and will be surprised when they read over the news. Our govenor announced that our state expects to receive 5,000 or more people from the South in the wake of Katrina. I guess tent cities have popped up in Mississippi and Alabama. Not just for people to live in, but as people wait in line for fuel, they are living in tents. Makes me so thankful for what we have and where we live.

Thunder is starting up again. Mmmmmm. Time for a morning nap.

8:17 a.m. - Sunday, Sept. 04, 2005
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink