sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Maybe I am emotional but I don't need you to point it out.

The other day I was driving home from taking a test at school. On the road ahead of me I saw what I thought was a dead animal. As I got closer, I saw that it was indeed an animal, a squirrel, to be exact, but he was not dead. The poor thing was laying on his back and his front and back legs were waving frantically in the air. It appeared that he had been hit by a car and was unable to get up but was still alive. In an instant, I decided to put the poor beast out of his misery and I swerved to hit him directly. Then I cried for 10 minutes as I drove the rest of the way home.

Last night was class. I am taking a biblical ethics class and I was enjoying it. There is a paper due before each class though and I have homework anxiety about each one I do. The professor claimed he was an easy grader during our first class. Um, based upon the evidence I received with my first assignment, I would say he was being generous to himself. We will see what happens when he returns the paper I turned in last night. After class, I turned to the classmate next to me and commented on how unusually quiet she had been during class. My casual observation brought forth a story that truly caught me off guard. Apparently, when she had asked the professor for his definition of plagiarism the week before, he took it as a sign she might be trying to outsmart him. Before he even received her paper, be began a campaign to see if he had a history of plagiarizing and all but accused her of such. Once she turned in her paper, it was clear she had not plagiarized but he would not apologize and told her she was being too emotional. Since then she has felt harassed and attacked. She went to the director of our program and by her words; he is doing a good job of sticking by his employee. She is going to turn in a formal complaint and will continue to take the class, but she is really struggling. The ironic thing is that she was not even going to take this class. She has credits from another ethics class that transferred and se could have skipped this course and still graduated with us next year. Instead, she decides to take the class and now has to deal with this bizarre situation with our professor. The other funny thing is that this is an ethics class.

My classmate told me that the director of the program also told her she was being too emotional. What is it with men that, when cornered in conversation by a woman, they can come up with no better argument or answer than �you�re too emotional.� My classmate�s integrity, intelligence, and faith were all challenged outright. He all but called her a plagiarist and a liar. Wouldn�t you come across a little on the emotional side if you were challenged in that way? Have you ever heard a man say that to another man? �George, calm down. You are too emotional right now. Let�s talk about it later when you aren�t feeling so fragile.� It is akin to when men accuse an assertive woman of having PMS or a woman having a bad day of being on her period. It just drives me batty. I am not looking as forward to my last two classes with this prof as I had been. I hope my classmate does not leave over this. We are all so close�only a year left before graduation and she will have a double major in Bible and Communications.

I think I need to up my dosage of Celexa. The winter blahs are hitting me already. It�s only October and the weather has been sunny and lovely. Better nip it in the bud before it gets too far into the dark, cold winter season. It could also be that I started my period today. Blah.

I have to say that I do love our new apartment. It is very comfortable and homey. The cats love galloping through the rooms and scaring each other as they round the corners to each room. The new entertainment center I put together looks amazing and fits our d�cor quite well. Overall, I think we all feel at home. Of course, little things are annoying. For instance, we have tiny brown ants in the kitchen and tiny silverfish in the main bathroom. In addition, the maintenance team has not come to install a ceiling fan in the dining area yet. The garage door is a noisy bedroom annoyance as it goes up and down 500 times a day, but we do not really hear it when we are in other parts of the house and I turn a fan on when we sleep, so it does not awaken us at night. But those things are small and easily taken care of and make for good stories later on. We all love where we are and hope it continues to feel as comfortable and homey as long as we stay there.

Tonight for dinner, it is sloppy joe popovers. This is where you cook sloppy joe meat in a refrigerator biscuit/crescent roll dough popover instead of using a bun. Sprinkle with cheddar cheese for added yummieness.

11:55 a.m. - Tuesday, Oct. 18, 2005
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink