sunflowery's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

(Photo Heavy) National Night Out is a Big Success

This is the longest week in the history of workweeks. It's only Wednesday. I have been having a lot of trouble getting up and going this week. Work isn't fun (that's why they call it work.) and has been filled with weird issues...every day.

Last night was fun, though. We had the National Night Out at our apartment building. They had the police and fire department come out. They had games and prizes and food and lots of time to get to know our neighbors. It really was fun. The kids in our building had a BLAST! And Bob, being one big kid, had a great time too. Of course I took pictures.

Tomorrow Bob has an appointment with his Muscular Dystrophy doctor. He sees him once a year. Last year was when he was perscribed the power wheelchair. Can't believe it's been a year already. On one hand, it seems he JUST got the chair and on the other, it seems like he's been in a wheelchair forever. One thing is for sure, the chair has made his life a whole lot easier.

Bob is so cute. He keeps telling me how tiny I am. Folks...yes, I am losing weight, but I am nowhere near tiny. I still weigh 290 and am still a 26/28. (I think...I haven't gone shopping yet.) But he's so cute about it, so I don't mind. He really is the best husband in the whole wide world.

I don't feel much like writing today. Mostly because I just want to vent and spiel and spew. And it's not anything I haven't said before. Mostly about how bored I am at work, how this is not what I want to be doing with my life, that I hate the pain my husband lives in daily, blah blah blah...etc.

So I will leave you with pictures from last night's event. (Sorry dial-up users)

These are some women from our apartment. They just looked so happy, I had to take a photo.

This is Bob with a real fireman's helmet on.

America's Future Firefighter

These are a bunch of kids from our building.

Doesn't she just look like the All American Girl?

This little boy was so striking and having so much fun, it was hard to get him to stand still for a photo. This little girl was not even 11 months old and she was walking everywhere!

Kids with the local firemen

My big kid with the local firemen

They even got to put on the firefighters gear!

This little cutie was particularily shy, but SO CUTE!

And this little guy was LOVING his hot dog! Isn't he an All American Boy? *************************************** A Year Ago Today: August 04, 2003: Swimming in the Sun and The First Day

We had a great weekend. Very relaxing and fun.

I got our apartment cleaned and it looks great. I don�t know why that feels so good, but it does.

Yesterday my brother, my beautiful sister in law and their 2 boys came over. We went swimming and had a blast! I even got some sun. It was nice swimming because I could frolic and rough house with the boys and still keep up with them. I bet we were in the pool for 2 1/2 hours or so. My muscles are really sore this morning, but it was awesome.

We cooked out on the grill and hung out on the patio. We really had a nice visit.

They are in town still today and will be going to Vikings training camp tomorrow to see the Vikings play. The boys are really excited.

Today is my first day at the new job. I am all dressed and ready to go. I hope it goes well. I am at peace with it and feel like I am embarking on a new, positive journey. Over the weekend I was thinking about things at Bankers and how some things are changing and other things need to be changed and I realized, I don�t have to think about them at all any more! It feels so good to put that all behind me.

I will write more after today. It�s my first day. I feel like I did before my first day of school. Excited, a tad wary, but eager to get there and see how things go.

Thanks for reading.

7:12 a.m. - Wednesday, Aug. 04, 2004
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Marn
Weetabix
smartypants
mommylap
legalbeagle
rdhdprincess
forty-plus
dragging-ink